D2 in constant boot loop after JRummys app install.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by TSXXX, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey guys, I'm having a problem with my D2. I installed Jrummy's D2 o/c app and i set it to "on boot" without first reading the instructions on droid life. Now, it just keeps booting to the motorola logo then booting back off. I've tried the battery pull to no avail. I don't believe I have an image saved to boot back to. I'm fairly new to the rooting scene. I don't blame JRummy at all, this is totally my fault and it is still a great app.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm able to get to the bootloader screen, but I don't really know what to do past that.
     
  3. hyatari

    hyatari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. jrummy16

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. wustehase

    wustehase Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the app what caused the bootloop jrummy, or is it because it was undervolted and set on boot?
     
  6. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It could possibly be both but i'm leaning towards the set on boot. I can get it into recovery mode but it doesn't help.
     
  7. canvs2321

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    are ROMs for the d2 similiar to d1, where you can install an update.zip from recovery? if so, download a ROM, or if you already have one DL'd, copy it to the root of your SDCard and re-flash(install) a clean ROM and try again?

    if it's not similar, my bad :p

    **
    Or do a Factory Reset and then install(flash) a new ROM....blah blah etc :)
    ****edit edit edit :)
    or boot up to recovery, use ADB to modify the file(s) that JRummy's
    app changed! :)
    **
     
  8. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm not quite sure what adb is? lol I'm in recovery at the moment.
     
  9. canvs2321

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, we'll leave that for another episode...how did you install your ROM, did you use Recovery? or a 1-click Root App of some sorts? if the former, just use recovery to format system/data/cache and re-install your ROM and try JRummy's app Again, but i'd suggest, once you get your Device up, running, and stable to make a backup in recovery, as to not be in this situation again :)
     
  10. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you think I could possibly take it to Verizon and have it replaced?
     
  11. canvs2321

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    your first post and this post is exactly 7hrs, :) hah, anywho, you have the option to return to verizon, but you'd need to got back to stock as to not VOID your warranty.

    But if you are able to go back to stock, then you'd be able to Root again, and install JRummy's App again, which means you don't need to goto Verizon because you can fix your problem yourself.

    Otherwise Verizon should know you Root'd(Voiding Warranty) and you'll have to pay full price to get a new phone?
     
  12. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I can't get my computer to recognize the phone in bootloader. I've already done a restore, to no avail. My buddy thinks running the phone over with my car would do the trick with verizon lol
     
  13. canvs2321

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    i think there is a Bootloader for SBF's, and a recovery for flashing *.zips, which are you able to get into? I just don't understand that if you are able to enter recovery, or bootloader that you can't fix your Device. Google is your friend, i'd only suggest defrauding verizon if you are a defrauding type of person, otherwise, take responsibilities of your actions and figure out how to fix your device. I mean if you want to do something outside the box, shouldn't you know how to get yourself back n2it?

    Research&Development, not Point&Shoot.
     
  14. TSXXX

    TSXXX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I completely agree. I'm doing the sbf method right now. I think the reason it wont work is because I can't get my phone into PC mode right now. I go into bootloader, but the phone still wont recognize it???
     
  15. canvs2321

    canvs2321 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just did a quick google of SBF Droid 2
    i got http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-rooted-help/76378-droid-2-sbf.html

    are you able to follow those instructions for getting into PC Mode and flashing the SBF?