D1 without data plan?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Art Vandelay, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there anyway to use the D1 without a data plan and just minutes?

    What happens if you have a standard plan and activate the D1 without on your own? Does it not activate or do they automatically add $30 to your plan?

    I want to give my D1 to my gf, but she doesn't want nor need data (can use wifi when need be).

    I wish verzion would let you. On my first smart phone the vx6800 or something like that didn't require a data plan.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    They wont activate it without the data plan. I asked when I bought mine at launch. Apparently with previous phones when people used a lot of data without a data plan they all called and complained about how high their bill was (over $200). So to combat that, when they introduced the new android line of phones, they made data mandatory since these phones were designed for some serious data usage. It sorta protects us from high monthly bills, and them from several thousands of calls complaining about their bill.

    You can use your D1 without a service plan over wifi only. I don't know enough about wifi/internet voip calling to say you could do that without a plan. Hope that helps!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah. Data is mandatory on smartphones. She's going to have to get data if she wants to use it.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. SteveHebe
    Offline

    SteveHebe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central NJ
    You might also look into hopping over to PagePlus Cellular. Verizon's network without verizon's prices!
  5. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Art Vandelay... how is the import export going.. lol
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Now I've never heard of that one. Link me, please obviously I need to get some education.
  7. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It can be done. But you need three things to occur to make them listen and do it.

    1) Enough years with them. I had 10 at the time.
    2) You can properly show the device had been on a plan long enough to make them money beyond the subsidy. My device was.
    3) Don't take no for an answer if you meet the first two.

    My youngest child is on a LG Env without a data plan. You can check that it "needs" a $15 to activate. Their system is actually setup to not require a data plan. They just don't want people to know about that fact.
  8. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. I've been with Verizon for over 10 years, so I suppose I have some leverage.

    We are on a family plan and right now she has one of those stupid feature phones that require a $10 75MB plan. I'd still have data on my line, so I guess I could persuade them.

    Is there a way to turn off data so there's no way of using it? Im rooted

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  9. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I looked up page plus and they offer 1200 min, 2000 text/mms and 100MB data for $30. That would be perfect.

    Can you activate any phone with them?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. ionide
    Offline

    ionide New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're wrong. The Droid cannot be activated without a data plan. Your phone was a different situation, not a smartphone. It is not possible to have a Droid with no data plan.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  11. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is in response to the page plus post. Yep you can. They're really a great deal

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's interesting, since I know for a fact that they can turn it off.

    When this D1 hits two years, I will have them turn the data off when I hand it down to my daughter. At present that means I only have to wait 11 months. Hopefully the forums thread system won't erase or lock this thread so I have a reminder and can post the results.
  13. ionide
    Offline

    ionide New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Best of luck. Can't be done currently in the system. Maybe they'll change it, probably not, though.

    Can I ask how you know for a fact?


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  14. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It can be turned off on a multimedia phone with the Block Data feature activated, but not a smartphone. The system (NetACE) automatically populates the Email & Web Smartphone $29.99 feature...even if you Block Data. I worked for VZW (Corporate) for two years and it cannot be done.



    Message delivered via a Bolt of lightning
  15. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like someone is in for a surprise when the Droid turns 2 lol.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  16. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    She has the Samsung reality that requires the $10 data plan. If we could get that removed and a data block put on that would be great. She's only had the phone for about a year.

    Just sucks cause I pay the bill and she does not use data ever so its a complete waste. Will Verizon let me remove the data plan? Do I call them or go to a Verizon store?

    What happens if u activate a "dumb" phone that doesn't require data plan, then remove the data plan, and then reactivate her feature phone? Will this work?

    Thanks for all the help.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  17. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    That's a multimedia phone so yes, it can be removed as long as a data block is put on the phone. You can go by a store or call *611 or (800) 922-0204 and customer service can do it.
    No, the "dumb phone" method will not work.



    Message delivered via a Bolt of lightning
  18. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, So I just request a data block to be put on and to remove the data plan. Ill just call them, since when I asked in the store they said you can't remove it ( I didn't push the issue at the time) and I have to remove the asurion insurance.

    What a great day. Will save $16 a month by removing data and insurance and found out my employer gives 22% ( was getting only 15% though my school's email) discount on Verizon plans! Overall I should save about $20-$25 a month!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  19. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    That's good news! Not all employees know how to do it or they just didn't want to because it would cost VZW money. See why I left??



    Message delivered via a Bolt of lightning
  20. SteveHebe
    Offline

    SteveHebe New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Re: Pageplus-They just bumped the data from 50 to 100mb and it is just perfect for my needs. Just an FYI - I love PP's cost effective plan, but their Cust Service is not always great.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

can you use a motorola droid 2 a922 without a data plan