D1 rollback?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by gmilliken, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. gmilliken
    Offline

    gmilliken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i know when other update versions have come up sometimes there is talk of rolling back to get root again, but for the most recent update to the D1 i havnt been able to find anything. i rooted my droid with z4root and everything is great, but now my brother wants to root as well. but z4 doesnt seem to be working because he is updated to stock 2.2.1 so i was wondering if there was a way to roll his phone back to 2.2 so that he could use z4 on it.

    thanks
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    There is, but have you looked at link two in my signature? That still works on FRG83D, and it provides a custom recovery image for lovely one-stop shopping. If all you want is root access (no custom ROMs or whatever), then you can use superoneclick. I can provide a link if needed.
  3. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recommend the guide route/manual way...especially if its your first root, so you can both be aware of what "root" actually is. Better for you, and easier on us. ;)



    DroidForums junkie!!
  4. gmilliken
    Offline

    gmilliken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i looked at superoneclick, but we dont have a windows, and i know the manual way is more trustworthy and better overall, but all we want to do is overclock using setcpu and maybe flash an occasional rom. i rooted using z4 before the update and im now using sprecovery and flashing roms with no problem, so i was just looking for a way to achieve the convenience that i had with z4
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Manual way? You mean through terminal? That won't work on a D1.

    superoneclick is supposed to have a mac version.
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Install the 22D Master OTA file through stock recovery, then root with z4, then put up with annoying nag update messages.
  7. gmilliken
    Offline

    gmilliken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry, i dont know what to call it, but the way in your signature, its windows only right? and superoneclick might have a mac version and i missed it, ill double check.

    this sounds more like what i want to do. where could i get the 22D Master OTA file? and also im not sure what you mean about annoying nag update messages? cause i rooted when i was on 2.2 and have never gotten an update message for 2.2.1
  8. gmilliken
    Offline

    gmilliken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i looked at superoneclick and if you install mono it works, and im sure that would work fine, but id just rather stay with what im familiar with
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  10. gmilliken
    Offline

    gmilliken New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so im assuming if that file doesnt work then we can battery pull and it will be fine? cause i dont want to break his phone
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    If it doesn't work you'll get some kind of error -- if it installs but then your phone bootloops you'll need to do a full wipe in recovery.

    MAKE SURE YOU HAVE AT LEAST 70% BATTERY TO FLASH THE FILE. :)