d-age 988 tablet skype issues

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by ngt, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. ngt

    ngt Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +86
    My sister in law bought my 3 year old son a tablet for his birthday. Mainly for the purpose of using Skype to talk with her from across the country. Problem is the video flickers and lags line like crazy. I know it's not the Internet connection, because I use the same wifi connection to Skype on my phone and it works perfectly. Is this tablet just a piece of crap, or do I need to update it, change settings, etc? ? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    If it's one of those real cheapies with 1/2 gig of RAM I could understand why she is having an issue.
     
  3. ngt

    ngt Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +86
    Ok thanks, at least I know I don't have to keep giving myself a headache trying to figure this out. Thanks

    Can I up grade the team on this thing?
     
    #3 ngt, Feb 13, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2015
  4. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    First I would confirm how much RAM it has. I would also delete any Apps that are not essential.
    I don't think you can any additional memory.
     
  5. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    One other thought. There is an App called Autoruns. It disables many of the startup Apps and will free up RAM. You may want to give it a try.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ngt

    ngt Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +86
    Tried it and it still didn't work, checked the ram and it said 165mb in use and 198mb free...363mb of ram?
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Probably 512MB. Really small RAM. I don't know why these cheap brand tablets do that. RAM is so cheap they could put more in it for pennies.

    Unfortunately there is no way yet to upgrade RAM on these devices like you can on desktop and laptop PCs.

    Sent from my Droid Turbo on Tapatalk.
     
  8. ngt

    ngt Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +86
    Talked with the computer service guy at best buy while picking up a gift card and he laughed when I told him the name of the tablet and said anything they had at $99 and above would work for Skype. He said the same thing....ram and processor.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    At least your son can play some entry level games.
     
    • Like Like x 1