CyanogenMod Working on Ice Cream Sandwich for HP Touchpad; Coming Soon

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. dgstorm
    Online

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    In the video above, you can see that the CyanogenMod team are working hard to bring you Ice Cream Sandwich on the HP Touchpad. This early build still has a few kinks to work out, but if their previous success with Gingerbread is any indication, then it won't be long before we are enjoying some ICS tastiness on the tablet. Here's a quick quote from PhoneArena with some details,

    This is pretty awesome news for fans of the "little tab that wouldn't die."

    Source: HPTouchPadForums.net via PhoneArena
  2. MdicnMan
    Offline

    MdicnMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Very exciting indeed. I wonder if voice search will work in CM9.
  3. nikecar
    Offline

    nikecar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i knew I should have gotten one when I had the chance. Opted not to while they were still in stock as I didn't want to part with my ever dwindling money (plus wife would be pissed even more than when I first got my phone)
  4. dgstorm
    Online

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,972
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah. I agree. I am kicking myself that I didn't snap one up when I had the chance. Ah well... there are always opportunities for good deals out there. The only constant in life is change! lol
  5. vaeron
    Offline

    vaeron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm so excited to get my TouchPad loaded up with CM9...I haven't used it in a few weeks because CM7 just isn't stable enough.
  6. smokiedabong
    Offline

    smokiedabong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Internet
    You had a chance to buy one and you didn't? It was a top of the line tablet selling for $99 when the rest were $599. When I saw the offer I immediately ordered 136 of them from all the places I could find, those were selling for $350 on eBay , kept only two of them, needles to say I got them more than free.
  7. akhenax
    Offline

    akhenax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NY
    Your 136 orders are why it was so hard for the rest of us
    Needless to say I got one, and will be getting CM9 on it (stable). However, Im in no hurry considering Webos isnt bad, just lacking developers.
  8. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I've read you can still get them some places for $249. Not a bad deal if you're looking for a tablet. I've had The Alpha builds on mine and they've been pretty stable. No issues at all. But it is hit or miss on these things. Some people have issues and rock solid for others. I am really excited about getting ICS as it's got tablet optimization built in.
  9. vaeron
    Offline

    vaeron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have any links to the ones for $249? I might be interested in picking another one up.

    Sent from my HP Touchpad running CM9
  10. Falconone
    Offline

    Falconone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  11. drew
    Offline

    drew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    ...and after a minor install hiccup, it works pretty well. Can't wait til the next release so it will do Netflix again. It's like a brand new tablet with ICS. CM7 was pretty good..they got it stable at 3.5, but CM9 is better.
  12. vaeron
    Offline

    vaeron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree... I love CM9 with the exception of no streaming netflix or online video, and no camera support :( it'll get there

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  13. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Sorry don't have any links for the $250 TPs. I think there's some on eBay.

    As for CM9. Stellar.,definitely an Alpha compared to the CM7 builds, but worth it.
    I would use ICS Browser+ and for OCing use no-frills. Also need an older version of titanium backup, if you use it. 4.0.2 is confirmed to work.


    sent from my ICS flavored Touchpad
  14. kevind
    Offline

    kevind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Getting the "Boot Failed" error message.
  15. vaeron
    Offline

    vaeron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you use the acmeinstaller2?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  16. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Alot of people having good luck with just a full wipe through CWM.

    sent from my ICS flavored Touchpad
  17. vaeron
    Offline

    vaeron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the boot failed message so I ran acmeinstaller2 and it worked perfect.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  18. drew
    Offline

    drew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Finding the right GAPPS is a pain. i'm still having Market / Gmail issues, but it sure is pretty.
  19. chewy74
    Offline

    chewy74 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the 32gb touchpad for $149 back during that employee sale on eBay.

    Haven't loaded Android on this yet, but I'm getting sick of webos. So this was a very nice development

    ________________________
    You had me at herro
  20. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Have you flashed the gapps fixer? No issues here.
    sent from my ICS flavored Touchpad