CyanogenMod Working on Ice Cream Sandwich for HP Touchpad; Coming Soon

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,398
    Likes Received:
    2,149
    Trophy Points:
    378
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +2,230

    In the video above, you can see that the CyanogenMod team are working hard to bring you Ice Cream Sandwich on the HP Touchpad. This early build still has a few kinks to work out, but if their previous success with Gingerbread is any indication, then it won't be long before we are enjoying some ICS tastiness on the tablet. Here's a quick quote from PhoneArena with some details,

    This is pretty awesome news for fans of the "little tab that wouldn't die."

    Source: HPTouchPadForums.net via PhoneArena
     
  2. MdicnMan

    MdicnMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +3
    Very exciting indeed. I wonder if voice search will work in CM9.
     
  3. nikecar

    nikecar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    i knew I should have gotten one when I had the chance. Opted not to while they were still in stock as I didn't want to part with my ever dwindling money (plus wife would be pissed even more than when I first got my phone)
     
  4. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    8,398
    Likes Received:
    2,149
    Trophy Points:
    378
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +2,230
    Yeah. I agree. I am kicking myself that I didn't snap one up when I had the chance. Ah well... there are always opportunities for good deals out there. The only constant in life is change! lol
     
  5. vaeron

    vaeron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm so excited to get my TouchPad loaded up with CM9...I haven't used it in a few weeks because CM7 just isn't stable enough.
     
  6. smokiedabong

    smokiedabong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Internet
    Ratings:
    +14
    You had a chance to buy one and you didn't? It was a top of the line tablet selling for $99 when the rest were $599. When I saw the offer I immediately ordered 136 of them from all the places I could find, those were selling for $350 on eBay , kept only two of them, needles to say I got them more than free.
     
  7. akhenax

    akhenax Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    183
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +202
    Your 136 orders are why it was so hard for the rest of us
    Needless to say I got one, and will be getting CM9 on it (stable). However, Im in no hurry considering Webos isnt bad, just lacking developers.
     
  8. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,837
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +669
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    I've read you can still get them some places for $249. Not a bad deal if you're looking for a tablet. I've had The Alpha builds on mine and they've been pretty stable. No issues at all. But it is hit or miss on these things. Some people have issues and rock solid for others. I am really excited about getting ICS as it's got tablet optimization built in.
     
  9. vaeron

    vaeron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have any links to the ones for $249? I might be interested in picking another one up.

    Sent from my HP Touchpad running CM9
     
  10. Falconone

    Falconone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. drew

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and after a minor install hiccup, it works pretty well. Can't wait til the next release so it will do Netflix again. It's like a brand new tablet with ICS. CM7 was pretty good..they got it stable at 3.5, but CM9 is better.
     
  12. vaeron

    vaeron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree... I love CM9 with the exception of no streaming netflix or online video, and no camera support :( it'll get there

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  13. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,837
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +669
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Sorry don't have any links for the $250 TPs. I think there's some on eBay.

    As for CM9. Stellar.,definitely an Alpha compared to the CM7 builds, but worth it.
    I would use ICS Browser+ and for OCing use no-frills. Also need an older version of titanium backup, if you use it. 4.0.2 is confirmed to work.


    sent from my ICS flavored Touchpad
     
  14. kevind

    kevind Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Getting the "Boot Failed" error message.
     
  15. vaeron

    vaeron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you use the acmeinstaller2?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk