Cyanogenmod to bugless

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by AXmichigan, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. AXmichigan

    AXmichigan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,
    I've been reading alot and it seems that people really enjoy the bugless beast
    I'm most entrigued by the name, because my Cyanogenmod (no matter what build) freezes alot and i dont like it

    I have the Motorola Droid
    I went and got the full ROM Manager, so it'll be easier to download (I kept on nightlies for Cyanogenmod before switching to the stable release due to the bugs)
    My question is, for going from Cyanogenmod 6.0.0 to Bugless Beast V0.4 do I HAVE to wipe data and cache if I am already on froyo? Or am I completely missing the point

    Also, I saw this theme on another post: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/67172-theme-bugless-evolution-rom.html
    If I go to Bugless beast v0.4, and the get the update.zip put it on the sdcard, boot into recovery mode, tell it to launch that update.zip
    Would that work fine?

    Sorry, I'm still kind of new.. and a little big afraid to check out new things
     
    #1 AXmichigan, Aug 28, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    for switching roms its highly suggested to wipe.

    you could always install BB over cyan, and if theres any problems, just wipe. then youre still where you woulda been with wiping in the first place

    and if the themes in an update.zip format, you choose apply update in recovery

    NOTE: ALWAYS (and that means always, not just when you want) make backups before doing anything in recovery. then, if there are any problems, you can wipe and restore the backup. less problems for you and us :)

    hope this helps
     
  3. *22899

    *22899 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +5
    As someone who flash the same ROM over and over again I still wipe every time.
    I don't find the whole process to troublesome, and it's worth it in my findings.
     
  4. AXmichigan

    AXmichigan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, thanks for the help!
    When i get back home, i will just got ahead and wipe the data and cache, and switch over

    I was reading over that post again (the one with the theme).
    Here's a few things I noticed. They say:
    "Full ROM with theme Download: Bugless_Evolution_v5.zip
    Theme only (no wipe required): Bugless_Evolution_v5_THEME.zip"
    and "This version can only be installed over Bugless Beast v.4"

    So if I leave the full rom with theme under that name, do I have to rename it to update.zip to load in the boot recover? Or do I leave it with the same filename?

    I figure I would just do the Full Rom to assure no issues.

    And I do always do backups...saved me once :)
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    rename bugless beast to update.zip, install, make sure everything works fine, and then rename the theme to update.zip (rename other one back to bugless so you know what it is) and apply.

    id rename on your computer or using astro
     
  6. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If using clockworkmod ...no need to rename.
    If using sprecovery ...rename.

    The full ron with theme "should" be fine. Just remember that its not from Pete and if you have problems it may not be his fault...but then you can just go to your backup and try naked bugless.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    yes good point i forgot about you dont have to rename when using CW bc you can search for it
     
  8. AXmichigan

    AXmichigan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey thanks!
    i figured it out and gotta sweet theme setup dancedroid
     
  9. Kinfolk_Thuggin

    Kinfolk_Thuggin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As momma always said... Don't forget to wipe!:icon_ banana:
     
  10. Russ2387

    Russ2387 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    lmao..................:)