CyanogenMod ROM questions...

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by jrl9851, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I decided to give this rom a try. I'm currently downloading it through ROM manager, but it didn't ask me if I wanted to install a kernel? Do I have to manually install one to overclock?
     
  2. Sitruss

    Sitruss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    enable developer mode in ROM manager (menu key), and kernel options will be available from the CyanogenMod developer page.
     
  3. stlcity

    stlcity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install the ROM first. Wipe data/cache if you are using CM for the first time. Check google apps before download starts. Once it flashes and boots up, redownload ROM manager. Flash the clockwork recovery. Then enable developers mode.(press menu and the option is there). Then press download ROM. The kernels are under cyanogenMod. Good luck..
     
  4. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before or after the ROM install?

    EDIT: Thanks!
     
  5. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So how would you guys compare this to bugless beast (for those that have tried it)?
     
  6. Sitruss

    Sitruss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was running BB 0.9 and I had issues at boot with memory management, but this is running smoothly. I'll be sticking with CyanogenMod for a while.
     
  7. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why do I need to check google apps in the beginning? What does that include?
     
  8. stevonyc35

    stevonyc35 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    you should try the Buuf rom (buuf theme over CM rom).
    its available in RM.
    awesome!
     
  9. Sitruss

    Sitruss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google Apps includes all of the Google Experience applications like Gmail, etc. It is important to get them.
     
  10. NeverEndingXsin

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    cyanogen mod ROM by default doesnt come with any of the google apps
     
  11. stlcity

    stlcity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google apps contain most importantly the MARKET app for downloading stuff. Thats why u need it. If u miss it there is an update.zip in the cyanogen forums that u can use too.
     
  12. stlcity

    stlcity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was on BB for a while. Then switched to CM. Staying love it. Its a keeper. The only other ROM that I considered staying with was the UD 9.0. It was solid for me, never had a FC and was very happy with it. Will wait for blackdroid to release a ESE 81 version and try it. :). Too many choices:icon_ banana:
     
  13. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you install themes on this?
     
  14. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    And what kernel do I use? I see bekit and p3 kernels or something like that. I'm used to chevy kernels.
     
  15. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am pretty sure the bekit kernals are just like chevys i may be mistaken though they are just for cyanogen though i am pretty sure
     
Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod cant activate phone no keypad shows up

,

cyanogenmod jewel enter sprint activation code

,

cyanogenmod rezound saying roaming

,

does cyanogenmod include kernel

,

how do i activate my droid x2 with cyanogenmod

,

how to activate phone with cyanogenmod

,

how to activate your phone with cyanogen

,

how to get rid of roaming indicator

,

us cellular s4 cyanogenmod *228 not activating