Cyanogenmod Nightlies

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by UNC, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've always reflashed gapps after the nightly update. Doesn't flashing clean out the gapps (like maps and gmail) which are in /system?

    And my answer appeared while I was typing this. !!
     
  2. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for pointing that out. I thought I was going insane because I know I didnt install gapps and yet they were there, lol. If you do edit the script, would you mind dropping a hint on how to do it? Or is it very simple?

    159 fixed camcorder zoom issue. Just FYI
     
  3. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's very simple. Just create a file named /etc/custom_backup_list.txt and edit it to contain the filenames of things that you want to survive an install. The filenames are relative to the root of the system partition, so leave off "/system"

    For example, my /etc/custom_backup_list.txt now looks like this:
    Code:
    app/com.wsandroid.apk
    media/audio/notifications/Kimmunicator.ogg
    media/audio/ringtones/Kiddo.ogg
    media/audio/notifications/Droid.ogg
    xbin/sysrw
    xbin/sysro
    
    I haven't tested it, yet, but I'm 99.9% sure this will work exactly as advertised.
     
  4. loudaccord

    loudaccord Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just went from 6.0 to 159... everything is working great so far. LOOOOOOVE that the widgets are all together now!
     
  5. csoga

    csoga New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, really like all the extras!

    I'm new to ROM-switching often, you might say I'm a "Nightlies Newbie" :)

    Noticed one issue though... Voice Search crashes when I press the mic button on the virtual keyboard. Any help for that? (I've ~gotta~ have voice input for text messaging!)

    edit: nevermind^^^... I went to Market, searched "voice" and Voice Search 2.0.1 showed up as not installed, even tho it was!... now all is good.
     
    #89 csoga, Oct 26, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  6. droiddadi

    droiddadi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running 159 nightly. Too many apps are running in the background eventhough I never used them. They restart even after killing them. Other than that it is perfect.
     
  7. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    A few things you can try:

    Download and install the latest gapps file:
    Latest Version - CyanogenMod Wiki

    Make sure you reboot after installing and see if it fixes anything.

    If that doesn't work, you can try deleting VoiceSearch.apk and installing the copy from the market (make sure you reboot after deleting it)

    I don't know about #159, but Voice Search works fine in #153
     
  8. UNC

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +2
    Still have the same Bluetooth error. When its fixed I think 6.1 will be RC.
     
  9. Shadowclock

    Shadowclock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've asked on Cyanogenforum but its very apparent there is more action here. Ever since I have tried to change the notification bar for custom colors it never works...what am I doing wrong?

    I'm on build #154 and going to #159 now.

    Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  10. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you reboot after making the settings?
     
  11. Shadowclock

    Shadowclock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Figured it all out...sorry for my newbness....I kept trying to use alpha and read the Note: saying that alpha will not be applied...will it ever be applied in an update?

    P.S. 159 fixed my wifi issues from 154...applied 159 and GApps without wiping.
     
    #95 Shadowclock, Oct 26, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  12. csoga

    csoga New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Se7enLC, thanks.

    I re-installed from Market, and it works fine now.

    Next up: Camera app crashed in camcorder mode trying to zoom, won't start at all now, will try reboot.

    Don't know if this has anything to do with anything or not?, but I did not wipe data/cache coming from CM 6.0.0
     
Search tags for this page

cyanogen mod 11 icon packs