1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

cyanogenmod 5.0.5.3 vs Blackdroids Rom?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by dbarrett480, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. dbarrett480
    Offline

    dbarrett480 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I keep flashing back and forth between these two and can't decide which I want to keep. Which one do you guys prefer and why?
  2. RoLa
    Offline

    RoLa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    801
    I'm doing the same thing..:)...I have stuck with CM though because I can't keep reading through all that hooplah on BD threads:icon_evil:..No seriously.... I like them both, I think BD ROMS are a little more stable for my Droid, but I like the fact that Koush is doing everything from source, I've decided to stick with CM...I'm still on 5.0.5 though and couldn't be happier:) I can't and will not commit....Def. Clockwork Recovery though..
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  3. jr313
    Offline

    jr313 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    i tried them both also but i prefer cm's im running 5.0.5.3 right now and its stable no fc's and just as smooth as ever and i have the licorice theme over it lookn sweeeet!
  4. Tatootie
    Offline

    Tatootie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Subscribing
    Im currently on bd with no issues though.
  5. dbarrett480
    Offline

    dbarrett480 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do your keyboard lights still work? I tried installing this theme on an older build and it broke my keyboard lights and auto backlight.
  6. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All hardware works as it should, now. Not trying to diminish anyone's work, but CM has a feature nobody else has that I use all the time--skipping tracks via the volume button.
  7. CyBuzz
    Offline

    CyBuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use BD 7.8.. I tried CM but could not find a kernel that over clocked, though I did not try hard. I have been on BD for a while now and just stuck with it. I took some things I liked from CM and put them on the BD.UD rom.

    I have not had luck in upgrading to UD8 though. Maybe I will do that today.
  8. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I just like the fact that CM has features that no other roms has. Then from that you can apply the many themes for CM. Overall it is a personal thing, so make the choice on your own needs and likes.
  9. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    I am a long time BD user on 8.1.1 now. I was just wondering out of curiosity what features does CM have that others dont? Also I like themes, and thats the one part I want BD to really push on with, more theme options. KLove the dark look tho. Fantastic roms BD makes, been so hooked since 6.5!
  10. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Some features that I use and there may be more. LEDS all the time. You won't get that unless you are still on 2.01. Intergrated USB tether. It's what I use since I don't have a Wifi card in my computer. 360, 270 screen rotation. Not that great but fun to play a trick on some one. One that adrynalyne already stated is the volume controls can be used even when the phone is locked.
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
  11. Flomaster
    Offline

    Flomaster Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Texas
    CM when holding the power button you you can reboot along with airplane mode and power off the droid. Volume button to skip tracks , 270 /360 rotation ,

    I loaded up a BD version once and didn't care for the extra crap he put with it I flashed back to Simply Stunning with the blink of an eye. and from SS I am on Koush's Cyanogen and haven't looked back since


    -=Jason=-
  12. thflroes
    Offline

    thflroes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    how do you skip tracks?? When I press it all i do is turn the volume up and down whethere its locked or not.

    thanks for your help!
  13. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While the screen is off/phone is locked, hold the volume button down. It will skip to the next track.
  14. gottaDROID
    Offline

    gottaDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, OH
    So if I want to try CM, do I do a clean swipe since I'm going fom UD7.8 to CM 5.0.5.3? Rom manager is what i'm using
  15. khmer
    Offline

    khmer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With Cyanogenmod you can't do ##PROGRAM with blackdroid you could. thats because Cyanogenmod is not a true droid ROM. I wish cyanogemod would fix that

    verizon motorola droid user flashed to metro
  16. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Does it error out or what? If it is that you can't get the dialpad up while on a call, open up to the keyboard and punch in the numbers or letters.
  17. khmer
    Offline

    khmer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, in the phone dialer if you dial ##PROGRAM the DROID programming menu appear thats where you adjust your voice quality VOCODE, Data Rates, etc.. with CM rom you can't access the DROID programming menu. It is very important to have because you can adjust your voice clearity.

    nevermind.. just updated to this ROM the ##PROGRAM does work now.. i guess you guys fix it.. coool.. awesome work..
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2010
  18. thflroes
    Offline

    thflroes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmmm....when i do that with mine it just changes to volume. I am locked and screen is off....oh well. not a big deal just would have been sweet!
  19. bgill55
    Offline

    bgill55 New Member Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Long Hold It dont just press it once hold it down like your trying to take a pic with the volume rocker!
  20. koush
    Offline

    koush Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Obviously I am running CyanogenMod. ;) But man... you guys gotta run through the install script Blackdriod set up on ROM Manager. Ridiculous how many options you get. He really pushed the system. :)
Search tags for this page

why is my themes provider broke when upgrading cyanogenmod