cyanogen rom + nextheme =BRICK

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ucpro, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i saw on another site that his nextheme was supposed to work with cyanogen..i booted into my clockwork and it said installed, then i reboot and guess what?? 5 mins of lookin at the M logo..then to make things worse, my restore image that i made with clockwork didn't work either as it stayed stuck at the M logo....

    in the end, i had to reinstall my cyanogen rom losing everything i had once again..CRAP!!!
  2. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I fricken hate people like you. Its not bricked. If it nwas bricked, you cannot fix it. You did fix it. Therefore, no brick.

    Anyways though, that's a known problem with clockwork. Most people will install rom, switch to sprecovery, then backup.
  3. SoCalMiles
    Offline

    SoCalMiles Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same problem....sucks I know. But learn to "Better" describe the condition of your phone...Brick = DEAD!, return to Verizon and act stupid or collect another 5 bills cause its replacement time! If you try something and it doesn't load = Unsuccessful....not brick!
  4. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, please never say bricked again.

    I think the mods should ban the word from the forum.
  5. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont take it personal. You cant hate someone you dont know. It was a brick for the moment, and can be a brick to someone that cant fix it. Im sharing my situation and seeing if its like that for everyone else, especially when installing themes
  6. jrummy16
    Offline

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try out my ron if you like cyanogen with the nextheme without having to deal with clockwork.
  7. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    So have any of you installed any new themes..if so which ones because i kind of like the seven screens with the apps stuck on the bottom
  8. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    that feature is just the Helix launcher you can get it off the market now the dev that made it for Cyanogen released it for all models now
  9. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    jrummy which rom do u have....and i saw a helix launcher with gold lettering and icons, can't remmeber what it is though, but i know that doesn't work either, not sure if i can get that one in the market though
  10. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    jrummy which rom do u have....and i saw a helix launcher with gold lettering and icons, can't remember what it is though, but i know that doesn't work either, not sure if i can get that one in the market though
  11. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bricked = SPAM.
  12. JRogers1978
    Offline

    JRogers1978 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fairhaven, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. jbee
    Offline

    jbee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    same thing happened to me...just pulled battery and reboot recovery and load older rom stashed as a saftey net...I just cant seem to brick the droid even when trying. (There's always another way...mooo-hahahahaaaaaaa.....sorry.)
  14. jeff0r3
    Offline

    jeff0r3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should delete this or change name, Its not bricked..
  15. alienware777
    Offline

    alienware777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    What I hate is people like you who call things the wrong name, and then have to rely on others to fix their own problems. You obviously have not read enough.

    And it doesn't matter whether or not you can fix it. Its not based on perspective. It can be fixed. Therefore not a brick.
Search tags for this page

repair bricked phones in dothan