Cyanogen Mod

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Yodes, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. Yodes

    Yodes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sorry if this has been asked before but my search of the forums here and the CM forums gave me no results.

    I am having trouble installing the Cyanogen ROM for the droid. The steps listed on the CM forum are probably the 4 most vague steps one could give for someone who is relatively new to ROMs and such.

    Can someone provide a little guidance on what I am supposed to do or what I may be doing wrong? I downloaded ROM Manager, Flashed ClockworkMod, tried to use download ROM button in ROM manager (didn't work), so i downloaded the ROM from my computer and loaded it to the root of my SD Card. I rebooted in recovery and when I hit "apply sdcard:update.zip" I get this message:

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    E:Can't open /sdcard/update.zip
    (bad)
    Installation aborted.


    After that I'm at a loss as to what is wrong or what I can do. Thanks in advance for the replies. :)
     
  2. itwerk

    itwerk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have u watched the video at droid-life.com? Kellex has a video of him installing cyanogen mod. Super simple
     
  3. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have it on the sdcard. Go to ROM Manager and install from sdcard. Then navigate to it. Don't know the recovery options off the top of my head.
     
  4. joshnichols189

    joshnichols189 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need Koush's recovery (clockwork)

    You should download ROM Manager from the market and it will let you flash the recovery image and then you can install it from the new recovery screen
     
  5. Yodes

    Yodes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    EDIT: OK I seem to be having another problem, I got the ROM to start installing but when Clockwork came up I got an error saying that there was an error dumping the boot image. Any idea what this means?

    EDIT AGAIN: I seemed to have fixed the problem myself. I went back into ROM manager and when I chose to install the ROM I chose to only wipe Data and Cache. I guess the problem was coming from trying to make a backup
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2010
  6. gotta have that funk

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    guys, if you use sprecovery and want cyanogenmod, just change the name of the rom's zip file to update.zip and install like any other update.zip...worked like a charm for mine.
     
  7. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Those instuctions are pretty limited aren't they? Place Rom on the root of your SD card, DO NOT EXTRACT, (thank you natediddy) open up ROM manager and flash ClockwordMod Recovery, after that is completed, Select Install ROM from SD card, allow superuser, scroll down until you see the "cyanogen_sholes-ota-eng.koush....blah...select wipe data and cache. That should do it. MAKE SURE YOU NANDROID BACKUP
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2010
  8. itwerk

    itwerk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you rename it from the computer or using astro? also, what if you have other "update.zip" files on your sd card? should i just delete them? fyi, i already am using cyanogen, but just wondering how to do it the way you are saying to do it
     
  9. Mercutio

    Mercutio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone verify this?
     
  10. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    I heard that renaming to update.zip has been working for people in SPRecovery...

    And to RoLaDrOID, you DO NOT extract the .zip file of the ROM.....
     
  11. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    I DID run it with SPRecovery, I did it a bit differently though, I have not tried it this way.
     
  12. markdobson

    markdobson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Independence, Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i went over to droid-life.com watched and followed the video tutorial step by step...rooted with DM Updater, etc...flashed...even got the cyanogen to "INSTALL" but at the final reboot ,my Droid just hangs at the M screen..have done this 4 times now. had to battery pull each time.... is it because I started at the stock 2.01 ???
     
  13. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    MY BAD SORRY GUYS, natediddy is right I was trying to rewind everything I did in my head, and type it out.. THANK YOU NATE
     
  14. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha...no problem :)
     
  15. joshnichols189

    joshnichols189 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It does work but for whatever reason the kernal name is different .. not sure what effect this has
     
Search tags for this page
can't open zip bad cyanogen
,
compatability s4 cyanomod kernel 3.4.0
,
cyanogen can't open .zä°p ä°nstallatä°on aborted
,
cyanogen mod can't open /sdcard/update.zip
,
cyanogen mod for motorola charm
,
cyanogin mod for moto charm
,
how to install cyanogenmod on motorola charm
,
motorola charm cyanogen
,

motorola charm cyanogenmod

,
motorola droid x cyanogen copy zip to sd card