Cyanogen 7 NO Cell Service

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by pharaoh319, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. pharaoh319
    Offline

    pharaoh319 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, new droid modder. Rooted phone, no issues. Installed CM 7.1.0-RC1.4. All went well except the actual cell phone. Had no bars. Searching for Service messages. Switched between cdma+lte/evdo auto and cdma only and back again. Ran Fixed permissions and *228. Still no bars or cell use. Ran back up before this adverture so I am currently ok.

    What am I missing?

    Also noticed all my apps were gone when running CM7 but all my contacts where in tact. Do I have to Reinstall apps after running CM7 or is there a way to recover those?

    Tried the search fu but found nothing this specific.
  2. pharaoh319
    Offline

    pharaoh319 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm aparently i need to udate my radio as well. hmmm ok, let the search begin for that process.
  3. MattWheelerGA
    Offline

    MattWheelerGA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Statesboro, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever you flash a new ROM to your rooted your phone your going to all downloaded apps unless you back them up using third party software, i.e. Apps2SD or Titanium. Since CM7 is a very stripped down, AOSP based ROM you are also gone.a lose any Verizon bloatware apps previously installed on the device.

    As for cell service, NEVER dial *228 to activate service. 4G phones are different than standard 3G or EVDO phones, and dialing it can cause you serious issues. Definitely make sure you have the proper radio for your ROM as well. 2.0 should do the trick as it's the most stable, but some users are having great success with 2.5.

    Good luck!

    Sent from my Gingeritis Infected ThunderBolt using DroidForums
  4. pharaoh319
    Offline

    pharaoh319 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info Matt. As thought, it was my radio needing flashing. everything is working. i did back up using titanium and im in the process of restoring the 200 apps i had backed up.
  5. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Do NOT run *228 on this device.

    sent from my bolt
  6. ryand823
    Offline

    ryand823 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    No service issue--droid 2global

    how did you go about flashing the radio?
  7. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    find the root only radios (rootzwiki has them for sure)
    download the files
    make sure the MD5 sums match
    rename the file to PG05IMG.zip
    move the file to the root of your SD card (not in any folder)
    power off phone completely, or pull battery
    hold power and volume down
    phone will boot into HBOOT
    it will find the file and ask you to start the flash
    select volume up to say yes.
    it will flash it
    power to reboot when prompted
    you now have the new radio
  8. Parafly9
    Offline

    Parafly9 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Uxbridge, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about GPS on CM7? No luck?

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
  9. XKXDISTURBEDXKX
    Offline

    XKXDISTURBEDXKX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    GPS workaround is to flash a sense based ROM and establish a God connection and then make sure you can get a lock and after you get a lock restore CM7 and you should have a more accurate Gps

    sent from a 1.5ghz-Cyanogen 'Bolt
    [ROM] CM7 RC 1.6.1
    [Kernel] Protekk 2.6.35.14
    Waiting for the Vigor...
  10. RevosFTS
    Offline

    RevosFTS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dialed *228 one time when i was out in the woods. Didn't do anything. Why do u say don't use it though?

    Sent from my Thunderbolt running Das Bamf Sense 3!?
  11. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    *228 is for 3g phones to update PRLs. Since the ThunderBolt runs off a different radio and a newer tech SIM card, it is ill-advised as it could fry the SIM card itself.
  12. RevosFTS
    Offline

    RevosFTS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    10-4 appreciate it

    Sent from my Thunderbolt running Das Bamf Sense 3!?
  13. SquintyOS
    Offline

    SquintyOS Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to be ob service.
Search tags for this page
cm 7 showing no service
,
cyanogen mod 7 no service
,
cyanogen mod no service unicom
,

cyanogenmod 7 no service

,
cyanogenmod 9 no service
,

cyanogenmod no service

,
droid inc 2 cyanogenmod 7 no service
,
no service after cyanogenmod
,
no service after installing cyanogenmod
,
no service problem with cm 7