1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

CWRproblems

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by collinjm01, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. collinjm01
    Offline

    collinjm01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Okay tryin to get DL30. I go into cwr and it says it cant mount SD card and i have no idea what to d. I have tried many different ways to get into cwr and either way it says it cant mount sd...Please help.

    Edit: Here is what clockwork is telling me, verbatim:

    E: can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0p1)
    (Device or resource busy)
    E: Can't mount /sdcard
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
  2. Madwicket
    Offline

    Madwicket New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you leaving your device connected to the computer? If you are try it disconnected. It might be mounted on the computer.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  3. mr_silent
    Offline

    mr_silent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    I have the same problem with cwr, but not every time, just once and a while. Try flashing sprecovery, then flash clockwork, then boot into recovery again and see if it took. If not then just try SPrecovery, or do a search for another recovery, heard there are some newer ones available now.

    Sent from my Milestone 1 using Droid Forums app
  4. collinjm01
    Offline

    collinjm01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Tried it disconnected, didnt make a difference. and its not a droid, its a fascinate... so there are no other recoveries for it :\
  5. Madwicket
    Offline

    Madwicket New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Msn this if tough. I would say reflash cwm with a new update.zip, and perform cache/data wipe couldn't hurt.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  6. collinjm01
    Offline

    collinjm01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    when you say reflash, you mean Odin? cuz everything is on my sd card...so i cant reflash in cwr
  7. sly3575
    Offline

    sly3575 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Problem solved!!


    OK, I had the exact same problem (I also couln't mount SD card to my computer) with my wife's fascinate and here's what fixed it for me:

    1. remove SD card with power on, then pull battery.
    2. replace battery and reboot, then remove battery again; replace SD and battery and reboot.
    3. power off, remove battery, plug in USB while holding down volume.
    4. follow directions here: Clockworkmod installation how to for windows / *nix - xda-developers to reflash CWR with Odin.
    5. when it reboots into CWR immeadiately make a nandroid (if this hasn't already been accomplished)

    Hope this helps. I'm pretty new and had trouble finding any help on the forums for this problem. Just got lucky out of desperation.
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011
  8. collinjm01
    Offline

    collinjm01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    okay so all i did was reflash CWR with odin and it was back to normal. Now i wannna flash DL30 super clean. do i need the DL09 or DJ05 modem? If so where can i get it? Thanks in advance! :D (im starting to get the hang of this and hopefully will turn me into a happy Fascinate owner ):icon_ banana:
  9. Mr2001
    Offline

    Mr2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm getting this error too, every single time I boot into CWR from ROM Manager to do a backup or install a ROM. Reflashing CWR with Odin didn't help.

    I was able to do a nandroid backup by removing and replacing the SD card while the phone was in recovery mode, but I'm not sure if that will allow me to install the stuff that ROM Manager downloaded.

    Any ideas?
  10. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    OK, I had the exact same problem (I also couln't mount SD card to my computer) with my wife's fascinate and here's what fixed it for me:

    1. remove SD card with power on, then pull battery.
    2. replace battery and reboot, then remove battery again; replace SD and battery and reboot.
    3. power off, remove battery, plug in USB while holding down volume.
    4. follow directions here: Clockworkmod installation how to for windows / *nix - xda-developers to reflash CWR with Odin.
    5. when it reboots into CWR immeadiately make a nandroid (if this hasn't already been accomplished)

    Did you try this method? and it still didnt help? ive never experienced this issue unless my phone was plugged in and i flash the crap outta my Fascinate all day with stuff....
  11. Mr2001
    Offline

    Mr2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. Before my last post, I had only tried flashing CWR with Odin, without all the rebooting and battery-pulling. But now I've tried the steps you pasted exactly, and there's still no improvement. When I open CWR and select nandroid>backup, I get:

    ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.4
    E:Can't mount /dev/block/mmcblk0 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0p1)
    (Device or resource busy)
    Can't mount /sdcard

    My phone is not plugged in when I do this.

    I don't know if this is relevant, but my phone also has trouble mounting the SD card over USB - it shows up as a CD drive, and usually I can only get it to mount correctly if I boot the phone while it's plugged in, and then it only works once.
  12. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    What Rom are you currently on? DL30 yet or are you still trying to get DL30?
  13. Mr2001
    Offline

    Mr2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Blackhole 3.0 and I'm trying to get Blackhole 4.0.
  14. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    ok...not running VooDoo correct?

    do me a favor and flash this kernel in Clockwork mod recovery and see if it helps your issues.... http://adrynalyne.us/files/kernels/adryn_sv_0118_fascinate_novoodoo.zip
  15. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
  16. Arcstriker
    Offline

    Arcstriker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I had this problem too on my wifes phone. From stock, rooted with SuperOne Click, the flashed CWM with Odin... everything went fine, hell I even made a backup, I then went to install a ROM and this error came to be.

    Heres what I did to get by:

    WHILE in Clockwork, and the error pops up, with the power on and everything right where it is, pop the cover off the back, pop out the SD card, and pop it back in (don't have to take it ALL the way out).

    Sometimes it takes a try or two to work, but after each time, hit the button to install from SD Card and see what happens, when the list of Directories shows up, your good (until next time).

    Not sure if this is a hardware error, or an error isolated with CWM because everything else uses the SD card just fine... But theres the fix until someone else comes up with a real fix.
  17. Mr2001
    Offline

    Mr2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now I can't even get it to work by removing/replacing the SD card while CWM is open. Every time I select "choose zip from sdcard" I get the same "Device or resource busy" error.
  18. BlackHoleSlam
    Offline

    BlackHoleSlam New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    toms river NJ
    i have the same error

    OT yeah 700th post actually 701 but i didn't see it before
  19. collinjm01
    Offline

    collinjm01 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC, USA
    All I did was re flash the new cwr with odin. I'm still on stock dl09, but I think I'm gonna flash the dl30 rom tonight.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  20. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    try rebooting recovery in the advanced menu in CWR...

    does your computer recognize your phone as mass storage? did you try that kernel i gave you?
    does ODIN recognize your phone?

    if it does then use ODIN to flash the new CWR i posted a few posts back and put the update.zip on the root of your sdcard...also after doing this you can copy the update.zip and go into your clockwork folder, delete the recovery-update.zip in there, paste the update.zip in there and rename it to recovery-update.zip and you should be good to go with brand new modded CWMRecovery that you can access in the reboot recovery option thru Rom Manager from now on
Search tags for this page

cant mount sd card rezound recovery cwm

,

cwm can't open /dev/block/mmcblk0p31

,

cwm cant mount /emc/

,

cwm voodoo lagfix recovery v2.5.1.x e: cant mount /sdcard

,

samsung charge mass storage drivers

,

samsung i500 /mnt/sdcard

,

verizon galaxy tab firmware