Cwm bootstrap

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by shizumie, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. shizumie
    Offline

    shizumie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok i have read a few different post. Seams there are 2 methods of bootstrap bionic and razr. Although it seams only one will safely and effectivly perform nano and restore nano, can someone please direct me to the proper one?
    Thanks again

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
  2. MonkeyMouth
    Offline

    MonkeyMouth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The one you're looking for is the Razr bootstrap. I've backed up AND restored with that one. No problems whatsoever.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR
  3. ShockDoctor7
    Offline

    ShockDoctor7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guide us to a link or at least point general direction please? This works on bionic too? Thanks

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  4. Einsteindks
    Offline

    Einsteindks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I forget where I got my Razr bootstrap. But the two are different, although the Razr is based on the Bionic. You want a plain Razr BS, not the tweaked Bionic. Mine was purely named Razr.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  5. MonkeyMouth
    Offline

    MonkeyMouth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. ShockDoctor7
    Offline

    ShockDoctor7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. ShockDoctor7
    Offline

    ShockDoctor7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. MonkeyMouth
    Offline

    MonkeyMouth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I have the RAZR bootstrap (actual application name) in my SD. I I've had no problems. Did a clockwork backup and restore. If you'd prefer I can host a link.

    BEAMED from my DROID RAZR!
  9. ShockDoctor7
    Offline

    ShockDoctor7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That would be great if you don't mind, knowing that you've even done a restore is great! Thank you!!!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  10. MonkeyMouth
    Offline

    MonkeyMouth New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. ShockDoctor7
    Offline

    ShockDoctor7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, thanks! So I can make a back up, root, then restore my back up later after unrooting to be back to stock if I ever needed to?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  12. TexasRules777
    Offline

    TexasRules777 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX ya'll
    So forgive me for sounding noobish but I downloaded the bootstrap..how do I use it? Installed it and I get an error.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  13. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    You have to root first, no razr yet but I'm guessing Pete's root tools is what peeps are using? Guys?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  14. thefuzz
    Offline

    thefuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works like a charm! Have a full back up now!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  15. thelastbill
    Offline

    thelastbill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could someone please direct me to instructions on how to use the bootstrap? I downloaded it and razr isn't an option to use. I have titanium and root manager. Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  16. Einsteindks
    Offline

    Einsteindks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Don't look to go too wild, just yet. There is no sbf or fxt to flash the phone back to stock when, not if, you screw up -we all do it. The bootstrap is all-contained, and you don't need ROM Manager. There is no flashable recovery from them in there because A)they aren't the ones that cracked it for the Razr yet, and B)the bootstrap still isn't 100% just yet. Damn close, though! I only did a backup, that's all. Holding all three side buttons down until the phone turns off is as close to a battery pull as we can get, power and volume down will do a restart.





    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  17. thelastbill
    Offline

    thelastbill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks man!

    How do I make sure that I'll receive the ota?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  18. Einsteindks
    Offline

    Einsteindks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have nothing deleted, everything unfrozen, and no bootstrap. Make a backup copy now of your main 'system' file from raw, stock condition, zip it, save on the SD card -YOUR SD card . It's ok if you have root, you have to in order to explore to it. You may have to delete BS to get the ota, but that's no biggie. Simply reinstall after. There also may be a minor file fix needed to return normal recovery action. I don't know what's involved, only that it's possibly required.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  19. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    The RAZR!! bootstrap is working perfectly for me and others. Not the one made from the bionic bootstrap. If you'd like check out this link and post 105. Let us know if you get your backup made.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...your-motorola-droid-razr-windows-only-11.html
  20. BobC43
    Offline

    BobC43 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Getting into the Bootstrap in the event of a problem

    OK, I have the bootstrap loader and understand how to get there from the app. But, if I later do something stupid and the phone cannot start, how do you get into the bootstrap if you cannot start the app. It was easy on the Droid 1, just hold down x while restarting, but on the Razr, how do we get there to restore a backup?

    Also I have two versions of RazrBootstrap.apk and they differ in file length. Any help there?
Search tags for this page
boostrap cwm
,
bootstrap cwm
,

cwm (bootstrap)

,

cwm bootstrap

,
droidx cwm bootstrap recovery
,
motorola cwm bootstrap