1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Cutting off cellular activity?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by NJsFynest, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. NJsFynest
    Offline

    NJsFynest New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there anyway I can cut off cellular activity? Like, not recieve any calls or text messages with a button?

    Reason being is because I use Wireless Tether for a connection to Xbox Live. Whenever I get a text, games lag for a few seconds and it'll cut of on phone calls. It's very annoying and it's NEVER anything important so I don't mind missing calls. Thanks!
  2. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Put it in airplane mode, there are tons of widgets that can do it, or you can long press the power button/lock button and it should be an option on that menu.
  3. Xerozix
    Offline

    Xerozix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    That won't work.

    What he's trying to do, is maintain his data connection, cutting off all other forms of communication. Sort of like how Dialup used to be :p

    I don't think there is anything you could do about this issue.

    Yes I agree it's annoying, but what else are you going to do?

    Maybe buy a new phone strictly for Data :p
  4. NJsFynest
    Offline

    NJsFynest New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aww Poo =(

    It kills me to say this but..... I could do that on my old Windows phone, cut off network connection with a button press.

    But then again, I couldn't use Wireless Tethering with the Windows phone.
  5. FranklinWalker
    Offline

    FranklinWalker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have never cut off it
  6. cynthialeas
    Offline

    cynthialeas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana, USA
    Create a profile specifically for this and you can press some shortcut buttons to enable it anytime.
  7. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol, then that's not exactly an extra point for WinPhone. Android can cut network connections with a button press too, but since it can tether, that also gets cut off.
  8. jstafford1
    Online

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    To say it plainly....if you cut off cellular activity what are you tethering too?? Without the network connection you have nothing to tether with.

    Sent from somewhere...
  9. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He's trying to disable calls and texts and neither of those rely on data.

    If using GV for all calls you can use the do no disturb feature but I don't think that would stop the text messages.
  10. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know if the technology will allow it. Someone would need to write middleware that sits between the radio and the phone software, so that the phone software was ONLY presented with data-type information. As soon as the phone is presented with voice-type information, it will switch modes and allow the call.

    This may be possible, but I dont think it's been taken on.
Search tags for this page

does cutting off data switch disable phone calls