Custom Texting Tones

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by mace_freley, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. mace_freley

    mace_freley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Greetings all,

    OK, I want to know if I can set custom tones for incoming text messages. Like if person A texts me, then tone A plays, if person B texts me, tone B plays, etc. I have custom tones for each person in my contacts when they call me, but if they text me, everyone has the same notification tone. Anyone have any idea? Cheers!
     
  2. mace_freley

    mace_freley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So nobody knows if this can be done. Seems weird, even my 5 year old flip phone does this no problem. Just that I get more texts than calls and it would be nice to know who was texting by the tone. Cheers!
     
  3. xious

    xious Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not sure if Handcent or ChompSMS do this, but if you like using the stock messaging app, then you can download SMS Popup. It allows you to create custom notifications per contact.

    X
     
  4. unknowndroid

    unknowndroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Handcent does for sure.
     
  5. mace_freley

    mace_freley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I installed HandCent and it allows me to assign the custom tone, but it just begins to play . . . . . . and then the Droid tone interrupts it and it stops. Weird. I can't believe this isn't simpler. I mean, the text message comes from a phone that has a tone assigned to it, yet it always plays the droid notification and not the custom tone. Hmmm . . .. . ..Froyo? maybe?
     
  6. unknowndroid

    unknowndroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ummm, that's because you still have a notification set for the stock text messaging app. Handcent notifications are for Handcent. Open the stock Text Messaging Application, hit the Menu button and select settings, then uncheck Notifications and just to be safe, change Select Ringtone to Silent. Now you will only see and hear Handcent notifications.
     
  7. mace_freley

    mace_freley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unknowndroid,

    Awesome! That worked like a champ. Thanks again!
     
  8. Droiduga

    Droiduga Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texan in Illinois for job only
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I got Handcent too. Now where can I get come cool robot like sounds to use for my sms notifications?
     
  9. frost2fa

    frost2fa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    droid apps

    So, i have this nagging issue when i look at app access listings.... doesnt anyone else slightly fear the concept that an app has full access to the system logs, can retrieve running apps and change network connectivity? I guess its just me maybe.