1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Custom ROM without location tracking?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Pyryara, Jun 21, 2011.

1. Pyryara

Pyryara New Member

Hello everyone,
    I'm completely new to this forum, smartphones, Android - a complete newbie. I do have a lot of technical knowledge though, plus quite a bit of general Linux knowledge.

As you might remember, in April there was a lot of controversy about Google and Apple saving location data on their phones, as well as transmitting them to those companies. However, I was never able to find much detail on when, how and what information exactly is transmitted.

In any case, I wonder if there is a possibility for the location tracking to be disabled via a custom firmware. From what I see, the only reason to *ever* send location data to Google is when the user explicitly requests this for the current location, e.g. when using Google Maps. The storage of past WiFi networks, GPS coordinates and/or mobile masts seems to make no sense at all, but seems to still be done on stock roms.

Specifically, I've never had a smartphone, but Android sounds nice since it's Linux and might be fun to play around with, and because I suspect that Android phones are actually compatible for syncing with other Linux devices such as my Laptop. :p But yeah, I'm very much concerned about my privacy and was really alarmed by those news about location tracking. So: can location tracking be disabled completely, and what hack do I need for this?

PS: Please, don't flame me if I'm misinformed. I know I might be - again, I'm a newb! Try telling me politely in that case. ;)
  2. tcrews

tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

Having both an Android phone and an iPhone I can tell you a small difference between the two.