Custom ROM experts, please advise on following issue.

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by maverick31210, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. maverick31210

    maverick31210 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried installing a few different roms and am having some issues. Would like to get these taken care of so I can go ahead and use some custom roms. Here's the breakdown; moto droid 1 p3 droid low voltage 1 ghz kernel on stock rooted froyo. I have tried installing the following roms;

    Bugless beast 4.4: installs but no apps that require root/superuser permissions work(rom manager, setcpu, etc...). I like this rom a lot and would like to know how to fix this issue.

    Chevyno1 simply stunning latest build: will replay droid logo and boot animation over and over. Does not revert to motorola logo, just droid and boot animation...not sure if that counts as a bootloop.

    Ultimate droid latest build: same exact issue as simply stunning rom.

    What could be causing these issues? Why does BB kill my root access and why won't the other roms get past boot screen? And how do I fix said issues?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mojo_droid

    mojo_droid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you do a data/cache wipe before flashing each rom?
     
  3. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +264
    How are you trying to install these ROMs? Through ROM Manager (Clockwork Recovery) or SPRecovery?

    Can't comment on the BB issue because I have never run one of his ROMs. But as far as SS and UD, that is the definition of boot loop. Typically (in my experience) that is a kernel issue. What I would suggest is restoring a backup and then download a different kernel - I think SS comes with Chevy's 1.0Ghz LV kernel, so you'd want to go UP in voltage or DOWN in speed (a safe choice, IMO, would be the 800LV). After the kernel download is complete, boot into clockwork recovery, do a full wipe. Then install the ROM and after that installs, install the kernel you just downloaded. Reboot and see if the boot loop happens again.
     
    #3 YankInDaSouth, Aug 30, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2010
  4. maverick31210

    maverick31210 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am installing with clockwork mod recovery and have not been wiping date before, I will give what you said a shot, but can anyone tell me why BB is not gellin with root apps?
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    When did you root your phone and what process did you use to root?

    Mike
     
  6. maverick31210

    maverick31210 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rooted about a week or so ago using easyroot app. Thanks for the help so far btw fellas.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
  8. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    It does seem that Easy Root has become The Usual Suspect
     
  9. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you plan on installing a custom Rom, their is no need to root 1st. Just flash the SPR.sbf and install a Custom Rom to gain root access.
     
  10. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pretty much ANY one click root method is no good IMO.
     
  11. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I view the one step method through the same lens as a task killer. Both cause more problems than they solve, in my opinion.

    Mike
     
  12. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    The manual way is just better, all the way around...this way if you have a problem later, you are already comfortable with the process
     
Search tags for this page
advise the following
,
cliq xt
,
motorola cliq xt custom rom
,
please advise following
,

please advise the following