1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Custom ringtones won't work

Discussion in 'Gummyjar Droid2' started by FC127, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. FC127
    Offline

    FC127 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cortland, NY
    I have GummyJar 2.5 installed, no theme, and I can't get the custom ringtones to work. I can set the ringtone in the contact options, but it's always the default that rings.

    What gives?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2. wdcspurs
    Offline

    wdcspurs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Individual contact ringtones wont work on Droid X

    I have run into a similar problem with my Droid X. The individual contact ringtones wont play when i get incoming calls, instead it plays the default ringtone. I noticed this so I powered my phone down and started back up and it worked fine for a few minutes, then back to not working. Please Help
  3. reichbc
    Offline

    reichbc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vacaville, CA
    FC127, I would recommend copying the ringtones to the phone's system directory. That's what I did.

    Place the files in a folder on your sdcard, for example, "tones"
    The rest of it is as follows: (you better be rooted dancedroid )

    Using Terminal Emulator, execute these commands:
    Code:
    mount -o rw,remout -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    cp /sdcard/tones/file.mp3 /system/media/audio/ringtones/file.mp3
     ---repeat above line for all ringtones---
    mount -o ro,remout -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    sync
    reboot
    

    wdcspurs, I don't know how to access the System directory using the Terminal Emulator.
    You might have to do some research into it, but the general idea should be the same.
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  4. FC127
    Offline

    FC127 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cortland, NY
    Wow, thanks for the help... worked like a charm.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. reichbc
    Offline

    reichbc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vacaville, CA
    Glad i could help :)

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

4.1.2 droid won't let me use custom ring tone after last upd

,

droid mini ringtone maker wont work

,

droid mini ringtone wont work

,

remout@remout.com.br loc:us

,

ring tone makers won't work on moto x

,

ringtone on droid wont work

,

ringtone wont play after using ringtone maker pro on my gala

,

why my bb z10 ringtone doesn't work

,

why wont my custom ringtones work?

,

why wont my droid razr m let me set a ringtone

,

why wont ringtone maker pro let me search ringtones on app