Creating and Restoring Backups - Complete Guide

Discussion in 'Droid X Rooted Help' started by maderschramm, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. rfranken

    rfranken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went ahead and did a fresh Backup.
    then went back to test Restoring it. UGH.
    frick ugh.
    now it stalled out on
    DATA_Tiles_2

    i'm friggen frustrated!!

    edit. i tried my stock backup and my rom backup and both stall out on data tiles 2.
    i'm dead in the water when this happend. but if i wipe everything clean then flash the rubix rom back on i have a working phone again. i'm guessing i'm going to have to learn to sbf in my future or i'll Never be able to take an OTA again :(
     
  2. Amazonfemme

    Amazonfemme Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Current Phone Model:
    VS985
    Hi. I'm a relative newbie, and tonight I decided to jump in and root my X. Did the z4root install as described here. Using your guide, I then downloaded and installed Koush's Bootstrapper and successfully did my first backup. Up to this point, everything's been shiny. But now, after deleting a widget and trying to do a backup restore (again, following your directions to the letter!), I seem to be stuck on this screen:

    ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.6
    Checking MD5 sums...
    Restoring system...
    Restoring data...
    cache

    Nothing's happening -- the bar at the bottom shows no progress. I've been on this screen for close to 30 minutes. How long should it take? And if I've hit a wall, what do I do now?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  3. rfranken

    rfranken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, thats my exact situation. and i'm really struggling to get answers on what to do to fix it. mines sticks on a different message but its at about the same time as when yours does with the Cache message. i can't find a way around it. what i've done to get a working phone again is do a battery pull. get back into bootstrapper. wipe cache/and data, and Flash my Rom again (rubix 1.9.5 in my case) that works and i have a working phone again. i've had to do this a few times now as every time i've tried to do a Restore of one of my backups...stock or not....it locks up just like yours did.
    very sorry for your problem...but glad i'm not alone as i think our issues are the same...we both followed directions to the letter but backups and restores don't work for us for no reason that i know of.

    edit. the only real good news for me is i'm very happy with the rubix rom i have. the bad news is i'm gonna have to learn how to sbf if i ever want to take another OTA again i believe
     
  4. Amazonfemme

    Amazonfemme Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +37
    Current Phone Model:
    VS985
    I wound up doing a battery pull and then a wipe/factory reset. Had to set up the phone pretty much from scratch, although I was able to get some (but not all) of my apps back from the Market. Giant hassle, and enough to convince me that I'm just not ready to deal with rooting and ROMs -- if for no other reason than that I simply don't have the time to muck about with fixing things if they go wrong! I also haven't figured out yet how to boot up in a way that bypasses clockworkmod and just boots up normally, but I'll get there eventually.

    At any rate, I hope you find a solution to your issue. I'd be interested in knowing what you find out.
     
  5. rfranken

    rfranken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    some advise against it...but i really like using titanium backup to restore my apps as it restores them and the settings you setup with them. big time saver when you have 242 apps installed like i do.

    i believe the only way to get bootstrap to stop showing up is to reinstall it. reboot...and then uninstall it. something goofy like that anyways.

    i hear yah. all this flashing and backups takes up alot of time. i do though like my phone alot better with it rom'd. but the problems i've had with restoring backups makes me wish i never touched it.
    (now my gmail isn't syncing correctly either...and some of my ringtones no longer work as ringtones)
     
  6. doniago

    doniago Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thought I'd try this out on my DX with pretty much stock everything.

    Backing up seemed to go fine, but restoring the backup seems to be hanging at dalvik-cache. It's been under an hour, but possibly over 30 minutes. I'm a bit concerned, but I don't want to screw with the restore process if I don't have to.

    How long do I wait before I give up the ghost and pull my battery? And how crippled is my phone going to be?

    As a newbie to this - Not. Thrilled.

    ETA - Gave up the ghost, pulled the battery. Phone did a standard reboot. Happily everything appears to be where I left it. Oddly, a widget that I added before doing the restore isn't present, as though the restore were successful - strange (maybe nothing after dalvik-cache is critical?) You'll have to forgive me if I'm reluctant to try this again without any clear signs that this situation's been resolved going forward. I do believe I'll stay away from further high-level phone hijinks for the time being.
     
  7. rfranken

    rfranken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yikes...seems like more and more people are having similar issues to what i have/had. you can read what i did above...but yeah..i am NO expert in any way shape or form. just a guy looking for answers like you.
    I dont ever recall someone saying how long before one should give up on a backup....i'd like to know too. Longest i've waited is 45 minutes before i battery pulled. but lately i only wait 10 minutes before i give up.
     
  8. doniago

    doniago Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Ratings:
    +34
    I ETA'd on my last post, and I seem to be up and running now, but this was a great way to make a newbie pretty trigger-shy about high-level phone tricks. I hope anyone else planning to do this will read our posts before assuming the procedure works.
     
  9. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this thread re-opened by the moderators. I apologize for any inconvenience users have had in attempting to restore backups - that said, these instructions are currently the only way to flash backups onto the droid x.

    The issues experienced are due to bugs in the clockworkmod recovery system.

    I'll edit the op to reflect these issues some have been having and provide a warning to those who follow the instructions.

    As always, none are responsible for end user phones on these forums but the end users. If you're trigger shy that may be a good thing - messing around with the /system files of your phone can lead to tears.
     
  10. doniago

    doniago Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Ratings:
    +34
    I'm just glad I didn't actually lose any data when I had to restart my phone after the restore froze it.

    But yeah, until those bugs are addressed it seems as though there really should be a warning in place.

    I look forward to the recovery system being fixed!

    ...as of this post I don't see any changes to the OP, which concerns me a little bit.

    Thanks for the update!
     
  11. OfficeLinebacker

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got linked to this from another forum, great guide. Thanks.
     
  12. Carpetman

    Carpetman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I go to "restore" you say there should be only one. I have 10. Now what do I do?
     
Search tags for this page
backup droid x before factory reset
,
bricked phone restore with titanium
,
droid x backup and restore
,
droid x root backup
,

galaxy s4 bootstrap.image

,
how to restore a backup on droid x
,
how to use droid x bootstrapper
,

superuser android wallpaper

,

superuser wallpaper

,

use titanium backup restore to bricked device