Cpu help!!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by Alexis_88, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    How should i set up my setcpu settings to extend battery life?
     
  2. ndd

    ndd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    about all you can do with setcpu is underclock the cpu; to really extend battery life, you'll need to undervolt the phone. are you running the stock ROM?
     
  3. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i am.
     
  4. ndd

    ndd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ah. pretty sure that underclocking with setcpu is your only choice, then.
     
  5. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok how do i set it up?
     
  6. ndd

    ndd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    just open up setcpu and select your max cpu frequency. you could play around with the governors/schedulers, but I don't think they'll make much difference in battery life. if you really want an increase, you'll need to install a custom ROM. eclipse 1.3.4 is gving me much better life than the stock ROM. if you want to go that route, there are lots of posts detailing how to install safestrap.
     
  7. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thank u
     
  8. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    just 1 more questions I set the max at 1200 but what do I set the minimum at?
     
  9. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    O and should the governor be interactive?
     
  10. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. ndd

    ndd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    set it at the lowest value, which should be 300. when I was running stock, I used the hotplug governor with the noop scheduler, but you'll have to play with it to see what's best for your phone and usage pattern.
     
  12. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    According to XDA, Hotplugx has more optimized code to turn on/off the 2nd core faster than hotplug.

    I'm running 1380 OC, speedscript V4, Hotplugx, and Noop. Sometimes Pegasusq governor works well too.
     
  13. ndd

    ndd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, but he says he's running the stock ROM, which doesn't have hotplugx. he'll have to go to a custom ROM to get all those goodies.
     
  14. Nasa

    Nasa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best way to conserve battery is turn off updates and network when not needed.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
Similar Threads
  1. DaveB722
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,294
  2. Bang Pow Boom
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,331
  3. prkrastn8
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    557
  4. alboboy10
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,852
  5. androidkrazer
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,054
Loading...
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 pegasusq vs hotplug
,
gt-s5300 underclock to extend battery
,
hotplugx
,

pegasusq vs hotplugx

,
setcpu settings for gt-s5300