Couple Questions from ilikemoneygreen

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by ilikemoneygreen, Jul 28, 2012.

  1. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    I just updated my phone to 4.0.4, i dont really have much time for hacking my phone anymore so it was all ota. Unfortunately its glitching my phone, probably didnt install right. If i factory reset this beast, i know it wipes everything. What i need to know is, if i factory reset it, does it reset to stock day one 4.0.2 or does it automatically just reset to 4.0.4? Also does anyone know what the fastboot unlock actually does? i know it unlocks the bootloader (Duh :biggrin:), but does it put your name on a list on vz database or something? Will they know if you unlocked it? (Even if you relock?)
     
  2. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    No verizon won't know and even if they do it shouldnt matter as they send refurbs unlocked.

    As for factory resetting, every time I did it brought me back to 4.0.2 and always immediately asked if I wanted to update. So I would imagine it would ask for the same

    Nexus using Droid Forums
     
  3. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thank you Dezy. Cyber hug. :hail:
     
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Np. Hope that fixes your problems

    Nexus using Droid Forums
     
  5. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    You can also relock the device to cover your tracks without big red ever knowing, if you're worried about it.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    If its unlocked wont they know? regardless of a relock.... ?
     
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    they would know because the lock icon under the google boot screen would be unlocked. whether they care or not is unknown, but I have heard of refurbs coming back unlocked
     
  8. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    negative on the factory reset. 4.0.4 and browser goes insane like it was before. arg...
    and so to clarify, a lock appears under the google bootscreen (their isnt one on mine currently), and its always going to show unlocked?
     
  9. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    if your device is unlocked then under the Google bootup screen it will show unlocked.

    is it just your browser going crazy? What does it do exactly?
     
  10. ilikemoneygreen

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,580
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +18
    I think im talking about when its relocked and your talking about when its unlocked. Let me try to ask this more clearly, Hypothetically I have my phone, unlock the bootloader (Im guessing Vz will know if i keep it unlocked) i then relock lock it once i reflash an stock image (will Vz still know i even unlocked it, if i relock it?) So my boot screen wont have an unlocked lock under the boot logo. If that makes sense.
    And yes my browser is whacked out and throwing lots of errors. the system closes it every time i start it up, and clicking wait doesnt work. It really reminds me of my old D1 when i flashed a rom and installed wrong thus requiring a reflash. My gallery app also is very laggy and glitchy after the reset i just did. this is really annoying because all i wanted out of this was 4.0.4. I should have just stayed at 4.0.3. :mad:
     
  11. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    I don't think that was Verizon sending out unlocked refurbs. I'm pretty sure that was Assurion
     
  12. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Hmm maybe I remembered wrong...don't have insurance so I never consider Asurion :D

    It's easy to have it locked back again anyway.