couple of questions regarding icons

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by drek, Jun 2, 2010.

1. drek

drek Member

Ratings:
    +0
    So here's my conundrum. I like the Home++ bottom bar, it's nice and effective. However I like the ability to use change the icons and Pandahome seems to be the best/easiest for that (although when I change an icon it doesn't work?). Is there anyway to use Home++ with custom icons? Please keep in mind I am a noob, lol. I've had this phone for 72hrs and got it rooted and loaded with BB 1.1 yesterday.

2. Skaggz

Skaggz Member

Ratings:
    +0
    You can extract the Home++ apk from your phone using adb or Root Explorer. On your computer open it up (its just a zip archive). In the Res folder, you'll see some drawable folders. In one of those (most likely Drawable-hdpi), you'll see the icons you want to replace.

When you're finished, zip it back up and change the extention to .apk

Push it to /system/app on your phone
    Set permissions to rw-r--r-- (chmod 644)
    Reboot
    Enjoy

3. fizeke136

fizeke136 Member

Ratings:
    +0

I had a question. I used this method you suggested and I was able to change the icon in the launcher. However, when I go to the Market or "settings->applications->manage applications" the app is no longer listed there. It still works when i press on it in the launcher but I was just wondering if it "disappears" from the Market or App menu because of something I did wrong or is this supposed to happen? I'd appreciate any help you could offer. Thanks.

4. Skaggz

Skaggz Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Its not in there because it is now a system app. You need to select Filters--All.

It also doesn't appear on the market for the same reason. If you find it on the market and click Install, it will give you the popup that it asks if you want to update the app. If you do update, it will most likely overwrite the changes you made. Somewhat of a sacrifice for being able to customize things you shouldn't.