Couple little quirks that annoy me about the G4

Discussion in 'LG G4 Forum' started by kjumper187, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. kjumper187

    kjumper187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Ratings:
    +54
    1st and foremost: Ringtone and Notification sound profiles are as one. This is driving me crazy. I like to have my ringer cranked at bed in case of emergency, but have the texts and and other notifications down, so they don't wake me or the wife (or infant).

    2nd: This debug popup all the time really isn't huge. Just dismiss it and carry along. Annoying at most.

    3rd: I can't set my quick launch buttons (volume buttons) like the G3 let me do. They are baked in.

    4th: Issue with charging on some adapters. Some work, some do not.

    That's it for now. If anyone can help with these, I'd appreciate it.
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,468
    Likes Received:
    7,038
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,379
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Priority mode notifications might solve your problem at bedtime...?
     
  3. kjumper187

    kjumper187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Ratings:
    +54

    I still have some investigating to do about that mode. I wondered about it, but don't want to screw anything up somewhere else later. I'll look into it. Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,132
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force / Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
  5. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,132
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force / Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    And what is the "debug popup" - I haven't seen that one on mine that I recall...if it is related to a certain PC or laptop, there used to be an always recognize this device or something that you could select until you cleared all the authorizations.
     
  6. Ollie

    Ollie Droid Does

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    2,105
    Trophy Points:
    1,468
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +2,485
    Current Phone Model:
    Note Edge - iPhone 6 Plus
    I use the Persist + Volume Controls app to split all sound functions on my phone. It has profiles that make it that much better so that you aren't constantly fiddling with volume settings.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. kjumper187

    kjumper187 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Ratings:
    +54
    What it seems to be is a notification that states something along the lines of "Your debug report is ready. Who do you want to send it to"

    I'm yet to connect it to anything but a charger.

    Next time I get it, I'll screen shot it.
     
  8. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    870
    Trophy Points:
    1,328
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +951
    My biggest pet peeve is that I don't seem to have a silent option, just ring and vibration

    Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk
     
  9. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,132
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force / Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    If you tap the volume down button, you get the volume popup menu, click on the bell on the far right and select no interruptions.

    I attached a screen shot...

    [​IMG]

    ~sent while mobile~
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,132
    Likes Received:
    970
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    Current Phone Model:
    Z Force / Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    I should also add - by selecting "no interruptions" that includes the alarm if you have one set. If you still want the alarm to sound, "priority" will allow that as well as any apps that have selected as priority to still notify you...
     
  11. SMYDSMITH

    SMYDSMITH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +93
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Turbo 2
    I have noticed that certain adapters dint charge as well. The verizon 5.1 output charger has this issue while the 5.0 does not seem to. I have also woke up after having a charger cable plugged in all night and the phone not charged thus my alarm doesn't go off as the phone has no charge. Also any areas that dont have great 3g 4g service ie 1 bar the phone gets very hot and the battery drains super fast.
    My 3 main issues are
    Power cable, battery life, mobile data/volte issues. Besides that i love the phones features.
    As a side problem I am trying to find a way to block outgoing misdialed long distance numbers to canada/mexico as us is included long distance w my plan but those countries are not and they can accidentally misdialed for ld charges. Verizon says they cant block them without blocking us except your lical area code.
     
  12. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +261
    Funny how different carrier versions are ... TMobile version does not have anything on the volume popup, only the slider. It does have a quick setting notification toggle for interruptions though

    G4'ed it!
     
    • Like Like x 1