Couple Droid questions..

Bahester

Reaction score
Hey all :) new to these forums, and just had a couple of Droid 2 questions. I've had a smartphone for about 3-4 years now. I'm currently stuck with the Blackberry Pearl (ew, I know). However, as of yesterday I have an available Verizon upgrade. I've been doing a good amount of research between the Droid 2 and Droid X and right now I'm leaning towards the 2 because I've had a physical keyboard for so long. I am also thinking of getting the extended battery because I'm a college student, and I tend to use my phones A LOT during the day for all kinds of things.

However, I wanted to hear opinions from maybe anyone thats switched from a BB to the Droid, and their experience. Also, I've been doing some reading on "rooting" and how it's really the only way to get the maximum experience from your droid. I consider myself decent in the technology department, but I think rooting might be a little bit outside of my knowledge. Is the stock OS really THAT bad, or is it acceptable enough to stick with?

Lastly, this might be an incredibly stupid question but I'm very new to the Android OS, etc. but when they do come out with a new OS, ie. 2.5 or whatever, will all the existing droid phones eventually get the update? I guess what I'm trying to say in simpler terms is if I go with a Droid 2 or X and they come out with a new phone with a new OS in a few months, will I have just wasted a few hundred dollars and be behind already?

patchm00

Reaction score