Could you use a Rezound with no 4G?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by cp24eva, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was thinking back to the times when I was in Japan and had a very crazy late night of club hoping and when my cell phone was off the charger from 10 pm to 7 am (CRAZY NIGHTS!) and I still have a charge on my flip phone. I don't have those same crazy nights being that I am older and have a steady girlfriend of 4 years now. Withouth 4G the rezound may stand to have some great battery life correct me if I am wrong. I came over to Verizon not caring about 4G until I got a droid charge (lasted me only a week before i returned it) But I was instantly addicted to the 4G speeds. I wonder to myself sometimes if I would even consider using the rezound if it was only a 3G phone? It still is a great phone, but download apps in a blink and surfing pages in a flash seems to be something that is a serious must have for me now that I have tasted the faster side of things now. And youtube in High Quality in a jiffy is great too.

    Could you do it? Wouldn't this probably make the rezound more like a droid incredible 3?

    On a similar note, is it me or is the 3G on this phone really crappy to the point where I wouldn't even dare go and switch between 3G and 4G? I did a few speed tests in my area and on most 3G connections I can't get over 600 kbps. But in the same area I'm getting 27 mbps.
  2. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yea where I live there is know 4g yet. I love mine but I did come from the DX so its a big performance upgrade all 3g or 4g a side. I'll grab speed test and see if I'm getting better numbers then you are.
  3. hatchin
    Offline

    hatchin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am getting up to 2mb dl on 3g which is faster than the Droid X I came from so I can deal with 3G as my phone on 3G with the screen on low brightness lasts me up to 4 days. 4G is nice (I am getting up to 25mb dl) but I only use it when downloading apps.
  4. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sure why not? 3G is fast enough, and with the smart use of WiFi, sync at home for example.
    Lately I've been thinking keeping my 3G phone and upgrade when 4G and ICS is old hat.
  5. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, i was thinking about only using 4G when it's important, but then i tend to go and do youtube and break.com and downloading apps. it would be GREAT if there was a prompt that says "would you like to switch to 4G for the utilization of this application momentarily?" I think thats a great idea where it would only use 4G in those needed instances. there needs to be a smart function of some sort that only uses it while updating or downloading big files or streaming. I know there are programs that let you switch from 4g to 3g, but for me to switch often it would seem i have to go in to deep. I'd just like a light switch widget. is there anything of the sort?
  6. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    If I never had 4G I wouldn't even care. Now that I have it I get slightly pissy when I run afoul 3G. 3G/1X can take a piss in the wind. I want my 4G!!
  7. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    I do it all the time.. I live JUST outside of solid 4G at home... and I scream hip hooray every time the wind blows the right way and suddenly I'm surfing at over 20mbps lol. I typically save any major downloads for when I'm at work in 4G or night when my phone is just idle anyways and i could give a crap whether it takes 10 seconds or 10 minutes to download a file. I don't have the 3G speed issues you're having either though.. on a bad day I get upwards of 1.5MBPS 3G *shrug*. that said on a good day in 4G LTE (and I have the speed test to prove it) 45MBPS down and 15 up X_X.. my best on 3g was 2.6 down and 1.5 up...
  8. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I just got some better reception than normal. 1.2mbps just now. So it all depends then.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
  9. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    4G is about an 8 mile ride down the mountain for me, so I keep my Rezound set to 3G.

    My love for 4G is being able to surf and talk at the same time not download speeds.
  10. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm going to try and use 3g all day and see how I fair out with it in my area. Never went all day on 3g since Ive had a 4g phone.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
  11. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    good luck.. it won't happen. I've tried that several times and could never go through an entire day without 4G LTE lol.
  12. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I've been using it for 2 hours so far! (twitching, holding back the urge to flick the 4G switch)
  13. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    bahahaha! Kudos... I've not made it that far before. which is weird cause like I said, I use 3G at home all the time. Maybe it's just knowing I don't have that option when I get back home that kills me :p
  14. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yeah, you're right. I'm playing with my 3G so it's easy to say that 3G is fine. The first time I download an app at 4g speeds I'll never go back!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk
  15. N4UPD
    Offline

    N4UPD New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    It will be interesting to see the next 4G roll out from Verizon.New year and new list.Hopefully it will be a list of interstates instead of cities.Here's hoping.:D
  16. cp24eva
    Offline

    cp24eva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I broke down just 10 minutes ago.lol. I need to search through a ton of old mails and 3G was going a tad slow inside this building. Switched to 4G....ZOOOOOM. Honestly, I don't see the battery difference. I have a 45 minute commute on a bus and train into DC everyday. By the time I get to work on 4G it's at 85ish percent. Switched to 3G this morning...same thing. 85ish. Numbers are deceiving though because by the time I get to 80 percent the drain slows down alot. On average I get 10-12 hours on a full charge and drain, but I don't drain alot. I'll let it get to 10 percent then I'm plugging it in.
  17. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am mostly around 4g coverage all day. i keep my rezound on 3g most of the time. for the web browsing and email stuff i do it is more than fast enough. if i am about to update a ton of apps or what not i will switch to 4g but usually just do that on wifi. which is always on when i am home.
  18. bozidar0
    Offline

    bozidar0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using the rezound on 3G #1 because I dont get 4G around my house, and #2 to save battery. It's an outstanding phone with out it.
Search tags for this page

htc rezound how to set to never turn off

,

htc rezound in japan

,
use htc rezound in japan
,
use rezound with net10
,

using htc rezound in japan