Corrupt SD Card

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kastein, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. kastein

    kastein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    can anyone tell me how to copy my files to pc....the only option I have is to mount sd card in sprecovery because it says i need to format the card.....the only pc i have is windows 7 and I not the smartest on using commands
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    You should be able to connect/mount your phone to your computer with the USB cable. Once you mount your phone will appear on your PC. This is your SD card. Make a new folder on your PC and copy the SD card to that file.
    Hope this helps.

    Mike
     
  3. kastein

    kastein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried that.....it shows up and goes straight to a prompt to format and if I cancel it disappears


    i can mount sd card through sprecovery but not enable usb mass storage
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I use a Mac so it has been quite some time since I've used a PC but try right clicking on the file that represents the SD card and see if that may give you the option to copy.

    Mike
     
  5. kastein

    kastein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that as well......I have been at this since 5pm eastern and tried everything I can imagine.....right now I am in adb and it says building lists but it has been that way for several minutes....does that sound right and should it take that long
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've not used ADB so I can not say if the length of time is normal or not. From what I've read about ABD the commands should be fairly quick. I am sorry that I can not provide you with a solution.

    Mike
     
  7. kastein

    kastein Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think i may have gotten it....if it goes well i will post how i did it so if others have the problem it can be solved
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Great! And posting the solution for others would be very beneficial.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Brian_Dixon
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,281
  2. TigerPawInBoston
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,104
  3. 9wire
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,159
  4. simonite
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,246
  5. lwags67
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,924
Loading...
Search tags for this page

android update corrupt sd card