Corporate Sync

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by kenoshabrew, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. kenoshabrew
    Offline

    kenoshabrew New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK...so... Motorola bills the D4 as a business ready phone to attract business users and people switching from BB's. Has anyone tried corporate sync? Its AWFUL! First there is no manual option to configure the servers. I did a Google search and found a Motorola support page that states you have to TRICK the phone by putting in a false email address first, then, and ONLY then will manual settings come up. Then you have to go back and change the false email address you put in after putting in your settings. I thought THAT was bad. After using the corporate email app... my God...its so bad its simply ridiculous... There is a terrible, TERRIBLE lag (I can't stress enough how bad it is!). Trying to scroll through corporate email is maddening. A lot of times the delay is so bad instead of scrolling emails will actually unintentionally open. On their support page Motorola states: "We are aware of these problems and will fix it in a future software update." If i switched to this phone simply for business purposes, I would return it. However, this was one of their main selling points on the D4. Someone really needs to get their head out of their rear end at Motorola before releasing a phone touted as "business ready" with a known bug that affects one of the main business components of this device. As I only use corporate email sparingly and am thoroughly impressed with the rest of the device, this isn't a deal killer by any means for me, more of an annoyance. But to a heavy corporate email user? My God... what a screw up...

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  2. tdpolo26
    Offline

    tdpolo26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amherst ny
    it is an oversight but you only have to do it one time... to me not the end of the world even for a full fledged road warrior businessman. once its setup your done. people like to make a big deal about a problem that has a one time fix
  3. kenoshabrew
    Offline

    kenoshabrew New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I respectfully disagree sir. It may be a one time fix to get it going, but first off, there shouldn't be a work around for a phone touted as business ready to do something as simple at connect to a corporate account. The fact you have to research how to do it is inexcusable.

    I also disagree on the fact it is a one time fix. It appears to be buggy, unless it's only my Droid 4 - anything is possible. It looks like you have the exact two phones I have. Droid 2 Global and Droid 4. I had this same account linked to my Droid 2 Global and it worked very fluidly and was quick. I'm not sure if you read my whole post. Scrolling through eMail is choppy and laggy. So full of lag that sometimes eMails open unintentionally. Maybe this is due to my specific set up, but I wouldn't think so. I don't "like" to complain as you state. I'm simply pointing out this is pretty sloppy for them to release a phone billed for business use, with a core feature of the business aspect of the phone full of bugs. If you don't complain, things never get fixed. If I'm complaining about it, there are others out there as well that feel this should be fixed asap. Perhaps even someone from Motorola will see this thread and work on the problem with a renewed vigor.
  4. ej0rge
    Offline

    ej0rge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's not the end of the world. it's just a design oversight that betrays a complete failure to communicate to the programmers what the users need. Which indicates a specific kind of failure in management. Which suggests that perhaps all of the motorola extensions to the android operating system and user environment have been poorly thought out and/or poorly executed.
  5. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Motorola phones have had issues with corporate sync since inception of the Droid line....this is nothing new. At least you have it fully working, unlike my D2G which at the time of release had pretty much no support, although touted as a business ready phone itself.
  6. ej0rge
    Offline

    ej0rge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We can only hope that a takeover by Google will result in a less stupid and less dickish motorola mobility.
  7. tdpolo26
    Offline

    tdpolo26 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    amherst ny
    there honetly may be a problem with your d4 or the server that your connected to.....i have no issues at alll once its setup..... well besides attachments not downloading instantly but personally i think that might be my companies server. I do agree there should not be a work around that is def ridiculous, however i would not return over a one time work around for me. i agree you need to complain but make sure to direct it to motorola. they dont read it here. i wonder why yours is so choppy its so smooth on mine people at work are jealous. they have a entire section on this problem at the motorola owners forum check it out. good luck hope it sorts out.
    oh personally i wish i could bypass auto setup completely but it seems dating back to d1 i couldnt you had to start off typing in a email address then it would let you go to auto
  8. hellmonkey
    Offline

    hellmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I know its not ideal, but I purchased touchdown and love it soo much. It works great, I can schedule push or poll anytime of any day, and I really like the calendar widgets. I had issues gettinv copr sync to work when I first got my d2. As it turns out, there was an issue because Im a domain admin and I had to turn off some permission inheriting, but by the time I figured it out, I was rom and didnt have corp sync, so I just stuck with touchdown.
  9. RoninX
    Offline

    RoninX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Same here. Corporate sync never worked on my D2, so I went with Touchdown, and it's served me well. The only problem I've had, since our Exchange server was updated recently, is that if you're running Exchange 2010 and ActiveSync is not enabled, then Touchdown doesn't handle attachments or meeting cancellations correctly. I still recommend it, though.

    Hopefully, I can get our IT guys to enable ActiveSync...
Search tags for this page

corporate sync

,
corporate sync motorola
,
corporate sync on android motorola
,
corporate sync on droid 4
,
corporate sync what is it
,
how does motorola sync corperate
,

motorola corporate sync

,
motorola droid corporate email sync disabled
,
motorola x626 corporate sync issue
,
what does corporate sync do
,
what is corporate sinc?
,

what is corporate sync