Corporate e-mail workaround - it works

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by knotbeerdan, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so I have been trying to figure out how to get my work e-mail on my phone. This has been hard since the only type of OWA server we have is blackberry. And we cannot get to our servers from outside the office unless in the portal. So here it goes...
    1) enable imap in gmail settings>forwarding and POP/IMAP> click the radius button to enable IMAP

    2) Outlook Express - Gmail Help
    visit the link to get instructions on how to import your gmail account to outlook. Make sure to use IMAP.

    2) create a rule in outlook to copy e-mails coming in from (exchange in my case) your corporate account to your gmail inbox folder.

    3) thats it!! :icon_ banana:

    only problem is that this will only work while you have outlook open on your computer (client rule) if anyone has a workaround of this I would like to know how.
     
  2. Fuzzball
    Offline

    Fuzzball Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I suggest checking your corporate IT security policies before moving forward with that. There are a lot of companies that frown on that practice and for some, like mine, it can be grounds for termination.

    Check with your IT department to see if they'd be willing to open up ActiveSync. Having you boss or boss' boss ask with a business case in hand can go a long way.
     
  3. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats a good point... Probably should have made a disclaimer. For me i'm lucky i work in the IT department so I happen to know that its OK for me to do it. But if you work for a government agency its probably not a good idea to do this
     
  4. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not a good idea if you're working for any organization that wouldn't allow this (government or not).

    AFAIK there's no such thing as a BB OWA server. Are you referring to BES?
     
  5. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah thats the one
     
  6. parsonsproject
    Offline

    parsonsproject New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    IT fail :icon_ banana:
     
  7. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey now in my defense I don't handle our servers we have a total of three of us in the department and my main job is end user support. And our blackberry server is brand new so I don't know squat about that.

    And OWA has nothing to do with mobile syncing that is just the term I use for it... its better than specifying active sync, or BES(which is actually BIS), or wireless sync every time
     
  8. parsonsproject
    Offline

    parsonsproject New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heh yeah I was just teasing.
     
  9. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i know, but being in IT we have to be on our toes at all times :icon_eek:
     
  10. dfwdroid
    Offline

    dfwdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    best bet would be "Touchdown".
    I work with the messaging team as a job and we are using ActiveSync for Exchange, and let me tell you, with all the Jailbreak and rooted smartphones, there is a real security bridge here.
    for instance we require any IPhone other droid or other smartphone users (other than BlackB) to comply with our security policy: phone need to lock after 3 min (if other value then DENIED), phone need to have "Passcode" enabled - Sunc has to be on auto (push/pull) ...there is a long list...
    Touchdown will let you do that.
     
  11. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant use touchdown because we don't have certs installed on our servers and we cannot access them from outside the network other than going through the portal which essentially puts you on the network. Then we have e-mail per OWA. lol.... But in a few weeks we are doing a huge overhall which includes a new firewall and certs on our exchange server. then I will be able to use active sync (or something similar) to sync directly with the server.

    Edit - I should mention that I tried touchdown
     
  12. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I screwed that part up... I meant I will be able to use OWA instead of a third party server, with touchdown
     
  13. cuppa-coffee
    Offline

    cuppa-coffee New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anybody know for certain if 2.1 will fix the problem some of us have with corporate email coming to our Droid? I'd like to know yes or no because i'll buy touchdown if it won't fix the problems.
     
  14. dro0g
    Offline

    dro0g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long ago at a job far far away (I was an e-mail admin) we had someone do this to try to get around not being allowed to use her personal phone with her work mail. We caught it one day after 50GB disappeared from a mail server. It turned out her forwarding rule didn't take into account attachments and forwarded a 20MB attachment to her home mail account (which promptly bounced with the attachment, which was then forwarded again, ad nauseam.) To this day that was the largest mail box I've ever seen. :)
     
  15. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I dont deal much with attachments and our limits are 5MB so at least I don't have to worry about that but i guess anything is possible
     
Search tags for this page
getting corporate email on droid
,
how to get a verizon droid x to work with activesync mail
,
how to get corporate email on driod phone
,

how to get corporate email on droid

,
how to import owa to android
,
how to put corporate email on a droid
,
https://owa.ncra.coop
,
mail bes az loc:us
,
touchdown for rootedsmartphones