Copying music??

Discussion in 'Android Audio and Video' started by Leastbay, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Leastbay
    Offline

    Leastbay New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im using windows 7 and my phone isnt showing up under the drives. How do I copy music onto it?
  2. bassic83
    Offline

    bassic83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston area
    I'm on Mac and Linux and it doesn't show on either one here, either...:mad:
  3. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Does the prompt pop up that a new device has been discovered?
  4. Leastbay
    Offline

    Leastbay New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The phone appears under devices. It says all is well. I just cannot access the storage. Im about to try a Computer with XP.
  5. bassic83
    Offline

    bassic83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston area
    Nope. Nothing here...
  6. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Make sure you drop down the notification bar and select USB connected.

    Then a box should pop up and select "Mount" from the popup. That should mount your SD card as a new drive on your computer.

    Let me know if that works.
  7. Leastbay
    Offline

    Leastbay New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Yep that was it, Thanks!:icon_ banana:
  8. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    No problemo -- usually that action has a sound with it (it does on my G1).

    Good luck!
  9. bassic83
    Offline

    bassic83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston area
    You mean on the phone? Or on the 'puter? I did the phone settings, there is a bar to unmount or format, but no USB connected...It tells me that USB is connected on the phone, but still nothing in Finder (Mac's 'My Computer').

    Hmmm.....
  10. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    On the phone...

    You drag down the notification bar and click USB Connected.
    Then a popup box comes up.
    Then you click Mount (choices are Mount/Unmount).

    Maybe something is wrong with your SD card?
  11. JimMariner
    Offline

    JimMariner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE Florida
    Just like they said above, here is a cut and paste from Motorola:

    Transfer files to / from the computer:
    1. Connect your device to a computer using a data cable
    2. Go to Notifications (by touching the status bar at the top of the screen and dragging it down)
    3. Touch the “USB connected” notification
    4. Touch Mount
    5. Use your computer interface to move files between your device and your computer.
    6. When you are done, go to Notifications and touch Turn off USB storage, then disconnect the data cable from the device.
    Note: Transfer files is supported on both Windows and Apple Macintosh computers
  12. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ah thank you -- I would sticky this information in a FAQ post in the top of the forum for people to look at if they have this question.
  13. bassic83
    Offline

    bassic83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston area
    My fat finger wouldn't get the Notification Bar to respond...I got it by using a stylus...


    And thanks for the help, BTW...
  14. JimMariner
    Offline

    JimMariner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE Florida
    Yes sir, it is going there next. but I thought you guys needed it now here. :p
  15. JimMariner
    Offline

    JimMariner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SE Florida
    Nice to know we all have that option !
Search tags for this page

droid a855 phone how to copy music to phone

,

windows phone copy music from linux