Cool little feature

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by Prerunnerseth, May 6, 2010.

  1. Prerunnerseth

    Prerunnerseth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found this yesterday. Don't think the Moto Droid did this. Press and hold an icon on any of the home screens. You will be able to drag it. Now drag it to any space already occupied by other icons and let go. It will stay there. Now you can flip through home screens with the optical track ball. press on it and drag it to an empty space on another screen.

    also works when dragging an icon from the app drawer.
     
  2. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    with the droid you can long press an icon on a home screen and just drag it to any other screen you want
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2010
  3. Prerunnerseth

    Prerunnerseth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah... I found it to not work too well on the droid. had to hold it at the edge of the home screen and move it a bit. was kind of a pain.
     
  4. BzB

    BzB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    sweeeet. easier than moving icons around on the droid for the same reason you mentioned. there needs to be a tips and tricks thread for this kinda stuff.
     
  5. Porterhouse0

    Porterhouse0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    this might be an HTC thing...i did that when i had the HTC eris...but not on the moto. it is nice though
     
  6. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    A little hard to do it with the Droid since it has no track-ball. But dragging with your finger works just as easy.
     
  7. sillyrabbitt123

    sillyrabbitt123 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    its awesome on the htc thanks for the tip. i hated that about the mot. sometimes it wouldnt switch home screens i would just stay on the screen and not move to the next.

    now with the mouse its a breeze!
     
  8. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree this feature is much nicer for me.....
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Leap is godly.

    :D
     
  10. BewareOfButtlice

    BewareOfButtlice New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This would be good if you wanted to move it more than a space over, otherwise you can just drag the icon to the direction you want it to go and it will move there.
     
  11. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    Quoted for truth. The Moto Droid method seems quite intuitive to me, however that may be because it basically works just like iPhone OS and i've been using the iPod Touch since the 1st gen came out. I sort of "learned" how to move icons between homescreens without even thinking about it.
     
  12. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    yea I don't understand how it can be as hard as people are making it out to be. I suppose if you have some sort of disability that robs you of dexterity in your fingers it would be hard. But clicking and dragging to the end of the screen seems pretty easy and intuitive to me.
     
  13. robdroid

    robdroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cary (near Raleigh) NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't that HTC Sense? I have known of this a bit now?
     
  14. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4

    Not everyone knows every trick, especially i its their first Sense phone.
     
  15. nightfishing

    nightfishing Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice tip.Thank you. MUCH easier than dragging.