1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Continuous Up time

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by blamejake, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. blamejake
    Offline

    blamejake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Greetings:

    I'm pretty amazed at the on-going performance of my Droid. It's been over 124 hours (as of this message) since I've either powered down or had to do a battery pull.

    Amazing to me since I came from a WinMo VX6800 where it wasn't uncommon to reboot several times each day.

    BTW, this is my original unit that I purchased on 11/6 at 10:00am. I've got a boatload of apps.

    I'm curious about others' up time durations.

    All the best, BlameJake

    Attached Files:

  2. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    52.25 hours.....running great
  3. coolkidd
    Offline

    coolkidd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mine is 3 hrs :). I got used to turning off any device once an update was found. This morning, I had 3 apps update so I turned it off and on again...
  4. Laurence5905
    Offline

    Laurence5905 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mableton, Georgia, USA
    186 hours on my phone as of right now.

    I've owned my Droid since the very beginning, too, and have only had a couple of forced-reboot situations. Mostly due to apps that have been behaving badly. Only one battery-pull when the phone completely locked up after sending a text message. Other than that, it's been great.
  5. blamejake
    Offline

    blamejake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cereal Killer - 525+ hours!!!!!!! Holy #$@*!
  6. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    im only 40 hours because i didnt charge it for 2 days and it eventually died ....

    before that i think it was up like 90 hours or so.
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    lol typo..my bad.

    52.25...had to reboot because of a couple homescreens I tried out. Other than that I never turn it off.
  8. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    178+ hrs.. haven't had time to screw it up lately. i do have a TON of apps though, and they don't seem to affect it.
  9. MickeyG
    Offline

    MickeyG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Bought mine Nov. 6. Have only needed one battery pull since day one. I don't think I've even ever powered off except for the 2.0.1 update. Absolutely puts WinMo to shame.
  10. glennj
    Offline

    glennj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Had mine 2 weeks, and coming from WinMo, I can concur. At 160 hours now. Only did a power down once because I could....didn't need to, just wanted to see it happen.
  11. BzB
    Offline

    BzB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    117 hrs for me. The phone has proven to be very stable and snappy. I never check my available memory or apps that I have open. Also don't use a task/app killer. Nice not having to worry about that stuff after coming from a bb which needed constant baby sitting.
  12. boatman2220
    Offline

    boatman2220 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got 75 hrs, never thought about keeping it going to check. I only shut it down, well, honestly a couple of times just to show off that freaky eye. LOL
  13. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Haha yeah lol, I honestly don't mind rebooting since the boot animation is so cool!! Mines been up for 57hrs. only because until yesterday (I bought a new router with extended coverage) I had really bad WiFi issues because of wifi signal, and had to reboot to get WiFi back on my droid. After moving the router to my room and buying one with extended range I can keep it on now without rebooting!!
  14. Droids
    Offline

    Droids New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    225 hours. I think I've had it a month now, I've rebooted it once just for fun, and one time I pulled the battery because it got locked up. Have over 30 apps installed but I only install apps with great reviews, don't need anything flaky running on my phone. I don't use a task killer, I just let it run 24/7 and let the OS take care of itself, and it does. (Droid Does, heh)
  15. Droids
    Offline

    Droids New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yeah, it got rebooted with the 2.01 update. Forgot about that. In fact it's been running 24/7 since I did the manual update. Nice.
  16. boatman2220
    Offline

    boatman2220 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darn it, I went and rebooted mine, I couldn't connect to the web. Silly Boy! It was because internet at the house went out not the phone.
    See, old habits are hard to break. Turned off WiFi, a hooked right up.
  17. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've found that I need an occasional reboot when switching between wifi and 3g. Every so often, if I'm on the network, ill have a service bar meter (full signal) but no data indication (1x vs 3g).
Search tags for this page

average android uptime

,
laptop uptime continuois even when down
,

up time on droid