1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Contacts. Take it from the top

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by juicerock10, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. juicerock10
    Offline

    juicerock10 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not the end of the world but an inconvenience nonetheless. Going through my contacts which are sorted by letter is a pain especially if you accidentally touch the wrong contact (ex. Instead of "Dean" you accidentally hit "Debra") because when you back out of this mistake, the contact list is no longer showing the "D's" it is showing the "A's" which of course is the top of the contact list.

    This is annoying as I was very used to my Blackberry which made finding contacts a breeze (dont get me wrong I am happier with my D2 than I was with my BB)

    Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this and remedied it somehow....Thanks

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I rarely use my contact list. I long press on the search button on the ffront of the phone and say call target. Boom, it dials targe. Hungry for Chinese? Call Chinese..

    The other way to do it is instead of rolling through the contact list just go to contacts, search, and type in the name. After a few letters your contact will pop up.
  3. Lenagainster
    Offline

    Lenagainster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    My D2 doesn't do dat

    When I hit the contact icon, it starts at the top of the list. Then as I slide my finger up the screen, a little menu icon appears and allows me to scroll fast thru the alphabet. If I stop on a name and select it (a Joan, for instance), then realize it's the wrong name and hit the return arrow, I am right back on the contact list where I left off (at Joan, and I can continue down to John). BTW, these are my gmail contacts.
    Perhaps you are hitting the return arrow twice and going to the home screen? In that case, you will start over at the top.
  4. juicerock10
    Offline

    juicerock10 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh thats interesting. Im not sure but im guessing im not viewing my contacts as Google contacts. Im using the default Contacts button. So this makes me wonder is there a separate Google contacts app? I know that Google has a hand in my contacts as they seem to with everything these days but its annoying whether i use the scroll motion or keyboard to find my contacts.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. nyrieland
    Offline

    nyrieland New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having the same issue with my D2 and although the voice dial is a terrific option, sometimes you just need to look up a number or the spelling of someone's last name.
    Not only is the contact look up a bit of a pain but I'm trying to find a way to organize all the contacts! Everything got imported when I synced my phone and now I have duplicates and random email addresses and the menu options don't include a select tool nor do I have the option to create folders (I would have to create folders in my Yahoo account then re-import everything, then do the same with my gmail and hotmail contacts).
    Any suggestions?
  6. juicerock10
    Offline

    juicerock10 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that your mention it, my contacts are riddled with duplicates too. D2 is great except for the phonr aspect imo

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. newk8600
    Offline

    newk8600 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO/NE
    There is (or should) be an option for editing the display of contacts and other settings to keep the phone book (contacts) clean. I'm on liberty 1.5 so not sure if it's different for stock or what have you.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. freezyfreaky
    Offline

    freezyfreaky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not much of a talk to my phone type of guy even though the voice search works amazingly well. I use Gesture Search. It's made by Google and it allows searching for contacts, apps, music, bookmarks and phone settings by drawing characters on the screen. You can trigger the search app to open with motion by turning the screen upside-down and turning it right-side up again.
  9. Lenagainster
    Offline

    Lenagainster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Great recommendation!

    Wow! What a neat app. Didn't know about it until you mentioned it. This should help my BH who has a terrible time trying to find contacts on the phone. Thanks for bringing it up!
  10. freezyfreaky
    Offline

    freezyfreaky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad you found it useful!
  11. GolfOx
    Offline

    GolfOx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To eliminate duplicates, touch a contact that is a duplicate, touch menu, then link contacts, then find the duplicate and touch it. The info on the two contacts is combined.
  12. toyracer71
    Offline

    toyracer71 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @GolfOX-

    I am running DajaOffice on my DroidX and PC and trying to work with Outlook as my main contact list. However I have notice that my phone is linking outlook contacts, facebook and I am guessing something else all together giving me multiple contact listing for the same person and not always the most current. I have about 180 contacts in my Outlook and my phone is saying I have almost 400. When I look at the contact list I am getting multiples of people and they are not all on FaceBook (or other social media). I am running Outlook as my home email and I am not interested in changing (due to a on going job search).

    Q1 Is this a case where the phone is trying to put Google, Outlook, FaceBook, (and who knows what else) all together on the same list and not recognizing that they are the same person?

    Q2 Is there a way to edit this list via the computer, working that much on that little screen is going to drive me nuts?

    Q3 How would I set it up so that I don't have this problem in the future? I am also wanting to be sure that when I enter contacts on the phone they will show up in Outlook.

    Thanks in advance for the help
    Mike
  13. GolfOx
    Offline

    GolfOx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have not found a way to get the various contact groups to merge on their own. I have looked through the forums a lot. You obviously are working and using youe phone a lot more than I. Good luck.
Search tags for this page

can you access contacts while talking