contacts not coming up in messaging

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by sugarmaglndscp, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. sugarmaglndscp

    sugarmaglndscp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I go to my messaging app, and try to enter the send to portion with someone from my contact list, no names drop down even if I type the entire contact name it will not recognize the contact entered. This also occurs when I try to send a picture. I can eventually send the message but I have to go to my contacts and send a message that way, and attach pictures if sending pictures
     
  2. jenc315

    jenc315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine does the same thing. Every once in awhile a few names will pop up but never the one I need. Would be nice to know why its doing this!
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Is this the stock messaging app? or another like Hancent?
     
  4. sugarmaglndscp

    sugarmaglndscp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is a the stock messaging app that comes with the phone, I talked to support and was given a new phone, but it does the same thing including the random names comind up that are not pertinent to who I am trying to contact o
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Have you checked you contact list? Is everything correct on that end?
    Give Handcent a try...just for comparisons....
     
  6. sugarmaglndscp

    sugarmaglndscp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Handcent worked great, thanks backnblack. Nice quote, couldn't agree more!
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Glad it's working for you....
     
  8. Arkainzeye

    Arkainzeye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have that same problem!
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Have you tried Hancent form the market?
     
  10. Arkainzeye

    Arkainzeye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just downloaded it 5 seconds before you replied to me.. lol going to give it a try now.. thanks
     
  11. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    the problem is how your contacts are set up. it has nothing to do with the phone (well, technically is does), the SMS/MMS app, or what you're typing.

    every contact that you want to send an SMS/MMS to must have a mobile phone entry. all of your contacts have their numbers set as "home" and this won't work with any messaging app.
     
  12. Arkainzeye

    Arkainzeye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine are set as mobile and it still doesnt work.. =( it worked last week though
     
  13. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    when you start to type in a name, you get NO results? you're sure it's setup as mobile? i've had no problems with this feature.
     
  14. Arkainzeye

    Arkainzeye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i start to type in the name it shows the phone number and the complete name. i then choose that one. and then press send. and it sits there. under handscent it has a thing that spins on the leftside of the message. its still spinning now after 20 mins later of sending the message
     
  15. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    that's a different issue. that wasn't what i was referring to.
     
Search tags for this page
android 4.2 messaging recognize contacts
,

android messaging app won't pull up cell numbers

,
android phones not recognizing contact numbers messaginig
,
contacts come up on messaging but not in contacts
,
why won't my phone pull up contacts when entering in a name