Contacts force close

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by dub_zeppelin, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. dub_zeppelin
    Offline

    dub_zeppelin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everytime I try to open a contact it force closes:......what to do?
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. dub_zeppelin
    Offline

    dub_zeppelin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I uninstall and reinstall the app? Any suggestions questions im desperate please help

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Did you root the phone?

    When did it start happening?

    You could find the contacts application in settings, and wipe cache to see if that helps.
     
  4. dub_zeppelin
    Offline

    dub_zeppelin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes im rooted, wiped cashe didn't help, started hapening when I removed a few stock apps vzw put on here. I think I didn't, but notice it at first. it will let me view my list of contacts but not open one. I have removed my fb account from it no help and in my rom toolbox app it has a fix permission button I tryed that :/

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. criioeg
    Offline

    criioeg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly same problem....BUMP^^^^
     
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You removed something necessary. You are going to have to find a system dump and replace the missing apk or sbf the phone.

    Sent from my rooted, ROM'd, and Safestrapped XT862
     
  7. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    Did you flash a rom? Dud you wipe factory reset and format system before u installed? I forgot to wipe etc cuz I hardly ever wiped my d1 and had that same problem

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. Shimmy549
    Offline

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you say "removed," do you mean you completely uninstalled them or just froze them? If you froze them, unfreeze them all and read up on which ones are safe to disable and which are not. Then try it again.

    If you uninstalled them, refer to Guidot's post.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. mikedyk43
    Offline

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My first guess would be the yahoo contacts apk. Probably the most commonly removed/frozen app that causes this problem. Yes it is required for your contacts to work.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. RPMBend
    Offline

    RPMBend New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with my contacts F/Cing. How did you fix this?

    :frown:
     
  11. Rubb3rNick3ls
    Offline

    Rubb3rNick3ls New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Travel A Lot
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same issue after freezing yahoo bloat on my Bionic. Installed GO Launcher EX and problem solved.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  12. Rubb3rNick3ls
    Offline

    Rubb3rNick3ls New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Travel A Lot
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops, I meant Go Contacts EX. LOL!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  13. RPMBend
    Offline

    RPMBend New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, go contacts does work. I like that, however i would like my phone to be up to par on all levels that i choose. Just because i did not want the yahoo and other misc contacts handler, moto blur decides that my contacts force close now.
     
  14. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +29
    Reflash the rom slowly debloat or use a custom rom

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  15. RPMBend
    Offline

    RPMBend New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! What is the procedure to reflash the rom? I unrooted and tried a factory reset and that did not work. So i assume i need to re-root to get this done. I'M THNKING ABOUT JUST TAKING THE PHONE BACK TO COSTCO AND THEN GETTING THE NEXUS FROM VERIZON.
     
Search tags for this page
android contact crash
,

android contacts crashing

,

android contacts force close

,
android contacts keeps crashing
,
contacts crash android
,
contacts crashing android
,
contacts keep crashing android
,
droid 3 contacts force close
,
droid x2 contacts crashing
,

droid x2 contacts force close