Contacts Force Close Issue

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Arkbird, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
    Every time I try to view a specific contact's details, it forces closed and says my contacts has stopped working. Anyone have a fix to this?
  2. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
    Factory reset didn't work. No one is having this issue if you try to view a contact that's linked to Facebook?
  3. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this exact issue all of a sudden. Haven't changed anything. I am going to try to restore a previous backup. This is so annoying.
  4. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if it has to do with the latest version of FB?
  5. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
    I'm not sure but this is annoying. Samsung might have a new customer if this keeps up.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. CErickson
    Offline

    CErickson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine's been doing it since I got it, after looking at a few contacts I need to force close. Also I'm not sync/connected to Facebook on this phone.
  7. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
    Well mine only seems to have this problem when it is synced to a facebook contact.
  8. foamman
    Offline

    foamman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have the ICS version of Google+ installed you just found the problem. Uninstall and get the market version.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. Arkbird
    Offline

    Arkbird DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Northern Virginia/Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +62
    Didn't think about that. Thanks for the tip.
  10. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    That fixed it, thanks so much!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  11. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Yup, I was having the same issue and the culprit was ICS G+ hopefully full compatability comes soon

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  12. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Afraid the ICS solution doesn't apply to me. I have the Google+ from the market. I "disconnected" Facebook so my Facebook contacts no longer show up in the contacts listing. Doesn't matter... it still force closes if I select a contact.

    Also, if I try to change the Viewing options, same thing... Force Close. This is aggravating... how am I supposed to dial my contacts?? Memorize all of their phone numbers???
  13. foamman
    Offline

    foamman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you stock or running a rom? What rom and version #? What is the revision number on g+?
  14. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Stock ROM, rooted. Google+ appears to be 1.0.8. I also have a TiBu backup of 1.0.7, but nothing earlier.
  15. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Have you tried Manage Applications/All/Contacts/Clear Data. I've never done this with Contacts as I've never had an issue with that app but it has worked wonders on other system apps (Gmail, Market, etc.).

    Good luck.
Search tags for this page
android incredible force close contacts
,
com.motorola.contact force closing
,

com.motorola.contacts force close

,
contact list force close droid x2
,
droid 2 facebook force close issues 2013
,
droid 3 contacts force close
,
droid pro contacts force close
,
force close contacts on incredible
,
motorola bionic contacts force close
,
motorola droid x2 contact force close