Contacts does not display ringtone details

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by yanwc, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. yanwc
    Offline

    yanwc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This may be a very simple thing, I hope..

    I cannot seem to get the contacts app to display the ringtone details of the contact. The ringtone is definitely set. Calls from the contact does use the ringtone I set. what do I need to do to get the ringtone details to show?

    Android Version: 4.4.2
  2. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    What phone are you using ?

    M8 tap'd
  3. popcenator
    Offline

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    And is it rooted or completely stock?

    on the move..
  4. yanwc
    Offline

    yanwc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sony Xperia Z2
    As it is from Sony, not rooted

    excuse my ignorance, what is complete stock?
  5. popcenator
    Offline

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I phrased that wrong, if you're not rooted then you're stock. I haven't had any experience with Sony devices, but when you open the app are you able to edit the contact at all? Usually the option is within the edit function.

    on the move..
  6. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I'm not familiar with Sony but when I searched Z1 had option from contact upper corner had 3 dots and menu showed more options including ringtone

    M8 tap'd
  7. yanwc
    Offline

    yanwc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can edit, and yes, to get to the current ring tone i need to select edit before i can see the current ring tone details.. a bit not so user friendly. So there is no way to display that info before or above the numbers of the contact?
  8. bkdodger
    Online

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,388
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I'm thinking most likely no ...maybe a 3rd party contact but not what comes with the phone skin

    M8 tap'd
  9. popcenator
    Offline

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It must be a Sony thing then because I'm able to see the ring tone set for contacts on my G2. As bk mentioned, there are some good 3rd party contacts apps out there. Give them a try if you wish.

    on the move..