Contacts does not display ringtone details

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by yanwc, Jul 27, 2014.

  1. yanwc

    yanwc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z2
    This may be a very simple thing, I hope..

    I cannot seem to get the contacts app to display the ringtone details of the contact. The ringtone is definitely set. Calls from the contact does use the ringtone I set. what do I need to do to get the ringtone details to show?

    Android Version: 4.4.2
     
  2. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    What phone are you using ?

    M8 tap'd
     
  3. popcenator

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ratings:
    +127
    And is it rooted or completely stock?

    on the move..
     
  4. yanwc

    yanwc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z2
    Sony Xperia Z2
    As it is from Sony, not rooted

    excuse my ignorance, what is complete stock?
     
  5. popcenator

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ratings:
    +127
    I phrased that wrong, if you're not rooted then you're stock. I haven't had any experience with Sony devices, but when you open the app are you able to edit the contact at all? Usually the option is within the edit function.

    on the move..
     
  6. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    I'm not familiar with Sony but when I searched Z1 had option from contact upper corner had 3 dots and menu showed more options including ringtone

    M8 tap'd
     
  7. yanwc

    yanwc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z2
    I can edit, and yes, to get to the current ring tone i need to select edit before i can see the current ring tone details.. a bit not so user friendly. So there is no way to display that info before or above the numbers of the contact?
     
  8. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    I'm thinking most likely no ...maybe a 3rd party contact but not what comes with the phone skin

    M8 tap'd
     
  9. popcenator

    popcenator Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    122
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ratings:
    +127
    It must be a Sony thing then because I'm able to see the ring tone set for contacts on my G2. As bk mentioned, there are some good 3rd party contacts apps out there. Give them a try if you wish.

    on the move..