1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

contact ringtone problem

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Droid4974, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Droid4974
    Offline

    Droid4974 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a custom ringtone that I set for a contact but it still rings the default tone.

    I can set this ringtone as the default and it works fine but when I set it for a contact it rings the default. The custom tone is displayed in the contact.

    What am I missing?
  2. Droid4974
    Offline

    Droid4974 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm the only one? :popcorn:
  3. xssparksx
    Offline

    xssparksx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine, just started about three days ago. I cannot find any help on this subject. Since the recent update my phone went down hill.
  4. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does this once in a while when I change the default ringtone after I set the individual contact. I just go back into the contact to confirm the ringtone hasn't been changed over and once I do that, it works fine.
  5. jontom0
    Offline

    jontom0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone will not allow the ringtone for a contact to change.
    It will allow me to select a ringtone for a contact, but when I press OK, it stays as default.
  6. Tony09
    Offline

    Tony09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm having the same issue. The default ringtone sounds instead of the custom. Could this be related to Helix somehow??
  7. BlazinCaucasian
    Offline

    BlazinCaucasian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    happens to me when my phone is idle/the screen is off. if my screen is on it the proper ringtone plays. I also have helix launcher
  8. Tony09
    Offline

    Tony09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Now it's working again. It's a hit and miss.
  9. Semidone2
    Offline

    Semidone2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue since the upgrade.
  10. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using Helix and am not having this problem....
  11. long john
    Offline

    long john New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Are you guys all on CM, by any chance? I had CM 5.0.6.2, and had the same problem. Went back to stock, unroot, and the problem went away...re-rooted and went to BB 1.0; still no problem...updated to BB 1.1; still no problem. Wondering if it might be an issue with the ROM?

    Just my 2p.
  12. Nidisa
    Offline

    Nidisa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have this problem, and it happens across several launchers: Home++, Sweeterhome, LauncherPro, etc....

    Truly, since 2.1 update, I've had all kinds of non-reproducable, repeating, inconsistent issues. It's making me very nervous that this phone has a shelf life of about 8 months.
  13. timmy
    Offline

    timmy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I've had this issue as well, and it also occurs inconsistently. I am running Helix 1, and have heard that can be the cause of the issue. Sometimes my contact specific ringtones don't play, and also it takes a few seconds for the caller ID name and picture to show up when my phone rings.

    I don't worry too much about it, for it is just a small issue. A bit annoying, not the end of the world for me :)
  14. gprichardson1
    Offline

    gprichardson1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA.
    I was having the same problem with my contact assigned ringtones not working and chalked it up to the 2.1 update. Well, last week I manually updated to 2.2. (on a non-rooted D1) and the same thing is still happening. No matter what ringtone I assign to a contact the global default ringtone rings when that contact calls.

    I did some searches for other threads on this and could find one so I thought I'd reply to this thread in the hopes that someone who is experiencing the same problem has figured out what's going on.

    Thanks,

    -Gary
Search tags for this page

after assigning ringtone it still rings default

,

cm 11 contact ring tones not working

,

custom contact ringtone problem

,

htc one contact ringtone stays default

,

problem contact ringtone android

,

still have contact ringtone problem on z10

,

why i set custom ringtone in s4 still show tone default ring