contact ringtone problem

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Droid4974, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Droid4974
    Offline

    Droid4974 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a custom ringtone that I set for a contact but it still rings the default tone.

    I can set this ringtone as the default and it works fine but when I set it for a contact it rings the default. The custom tone is displayed in the contact.

    What am I missing?
  2. Droid4974
    Offline

    Droid4974 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm the only one? :popcorn:
  3. xssparksx
    Offline

    xssparksx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine, just started about three days ago. I cannot find any help on this subject. Since the recent update my phone went down hill.
  4. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does this once in a while when I change the default ringtone after I set the individual contact. I just go back into the contact to confirm the ringtone hasn't been changed over and once I do that, it works fine.
  5. jontom0
    Offline

    jontom0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone will not allow the ringtone for a contact to change.
    It will allow me to select a ringtone for a contact, but when I press OK, it stays as default.
  6. Tony09
    Offline

    Tony09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm having the same issue. The default ringtone sounds instead of the custom. Could this be related to Helix somehow??
  7. BlazinCaucasian
    Offline

    BlazinCaucasian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    happens to me when my phone is idle/the screen is off. if my screen is on it the proper ringtone plays. I also have helix launcher
  8. Tony09
    Offline

    Tony09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Now it's working again. It's a hit and miss.
  9. Semidone2
    Offline

    Semidone2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue since the upgrade.
  10. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using Helix and am not having this problem....
  11. long john
    Offline

    long john New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Are you guys all on CM, by any chance? I had CM 5.0.6.2, and had the same problem. Went back to stock, unroot, and the problem went away...re-rooted and went to BB 1.0; still no problem...updated to BB 1.1; still no problem. Wondering if it might be an issue with the ROM?

    Just my 2p.
  12. Nidisa
    Offline

    Nidisa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have this problem, and it happens across several launchers: Home++, Sweeterhome, LauncherPro, etc....

    Truly, since 2.1 update, I've had all kinds of non-reproducable, repeating, inconsistent issues. It's making me very nervous that this phone has a shelf life of about 8 months.
  13. timmy
    Offline

    timmy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I've had this issue as well, and it also occurs inconsistently. I am running Helix 1, and have heard that can be the cause of the issue. Sometimes my contact specific ringtones don't play, and also it takes a few seconds for the caller ID name and picture to show up when my phone rings.

    I don't worry too much about it, for it is just a small issue. A bit annoying, not the end of the world for me :)
  14. gprichardson1
    Offline

    gprichardson1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA.
    I was having the same problem with my contact assigned ringtones not working and chalked it up to the 2.1 update. Well, last week I manually updated to 2.2. (on a non-rooted D1) and the same thing is still happening. No matter what ringtone I assign to a contact the global default ringtone rings when that contact calls.

    I did some searches for other threads on this and could find one so I thought I'd reply to this thread in the hopes that someone who is experiencing the same problem has figured out what's going on.

    Thanks,

    -Gary
Search tags for this page

after assigning ringtone it still rings default

,

cm 11 contact ring tones not working

,

custom contact ringtone problem

,

htc one contact ringtone stays default

,

problem contact ringtone android

,

still have contact ringtone problem on z10

,

why i set custom ringtone in s4 still show tone default ring