contact ringtone problem

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Droid4974, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Droid4974

    Droid4974 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a custom ringtone that I set for a contact but it still rings the default tone.

    I can set this ringtone as the default and it works fine but when I set it for a contact it rings the default. The custom tone is displayed in the contact.

    What am I missing?
     
  2. Droid4974

    Droid4974 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm the only one? :popcorn:
     
  3. xssparksx

    xssparksx New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine, just started about three days ago. I cannot find any help on this subject. Since the recent update my phone went down hill.
     
  4. DroidFan

    DroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine does this once in a while when I change the default ringtone after I set the individual contact. I just go back into the contact to confirm the ringtone hasn't been changed over and once I do that, it works fine.
     
  5. jontom0

    jontom0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone will not allow the ringtone for a contact to change.
    It will allow me to select a ringtone for a contact, but when I press OK, it stays as default.
     
  6. Tony09

    Tony09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same issue. The default ringtone sounds instead of the custom. Could this be related to Helix somehow??
     
  7. BlazinCaucasian

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    happens to me when my phone is idle/the screen is off. if my screen is on it the proper ringtone plays. I also have helix launcher
     
  8. Tony09

    Tony09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now it's working again. It's a hit and miss.
     
  9. Semidone2

    Semidone2 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same issue since the upgrade.
     
  10. DroidFan

    DroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using Helix and am not having this problem....
     
  11. long john

    long john New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you guys all on CM, by any chance? I had CM 5.0.6.2, and had the same problem. Went back to stock, unroot, and the problem went away...re-rooted and went to BB 1.0; still no problem...updated to BB 1.1; still no problem. Wondering if it might be an issue with the ROM?

    Just my 2p.
     
  12. Nidisa

    Nidisa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this problem, and it happens across several launchers: Home++, Sweeterhome, LauncherPro, etc....

    Truly, since 2.1 update, I've had all kinds of non-reproducable, repeating, inconsistent issues. It's making me very nervous that this phone has a shelf life of about 8 months.
     
Search tags for this page

after assigning ringtone it still rings default

,

cm 11 contact ring tones not working

,

custom contact ringtone problem

,

htc one contact ringtone stays default

,

problem contact ringtone android

,

still have contact ringtone problem on z10

,

why i set custom ringtone in s4 still show tone default ring