"Contact Quick Tasks" replacement

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by gsu_golfer, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    When adding contact quick tasks on my Pro, I'm given a 2x2 widget that is 2x1 picture and 2x1 tasks.

    Is there anyway to get a 1x1 direct dial shortcut? I have contact shortcuts in place now, which provide the LOOK that I want, but they don't direct dial. They take me to the contact.

    Is it possible to get an icon that looks like a contact shortcut that dials directly?
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a Droid so my experience may be different. Long press, tap shortcut, tap direct message, select contact.

    I'm moving to the Pro section so other Pro users will read and reply.


    Mike
     
  3. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, that doesn't work on the pro.
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sorry! Hopefully someone with a Pro will reply. If not, we'll look for assistance.

    Mike
     
  5. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a screen with a few direct call icons. using launcher pro plus you can resize the standard direct call widget down to 1x1 and when pressing on it the first time it will ask you what task you want to assign wether its call a number or text a number or email an address or whatever. launcher pro plus it what allows the widget to be sized at 1x1. works great.
     
  6. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been thinking about paying for LP+ anyways. If I wind up having to do that, I guess I will.
     
  7. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Launcher Pro Plus is totally worth it. Period. You can quote me on that.
     
  8. MrWilliams

    MrWilliams Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^^^This.
     
  9. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^^^Truth. This man is speaking it. :D
     
  10. semya

    semya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    or just get Any Cut from the market
     
  11. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had it. I would have kept it if there was a way to put the contact picture as the icon instead of that 1990 style icon.

    Is there a way?
     
  12. semya

    semya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason, part of my contacts show up with their google account images, others won't, though I see their images in Contacts. Weird!
     
  13. gsu_golfer

    gsu_golfer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd like for it to show Facebook pictures, because two of the individuals I'm going to use for this don't use gmail.
     
  14. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Doesn't that defeat the purpose of the direct dial shortcut? I think the idea is one-touch quick dialing.
     
  15. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    menu - settings - accounts - menu - picture source