Contact Numbers Are Deleted Whenever Installing Rom?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by want a droid, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep having this problem. At first I thought it was MotaBoy's Rom, but after trying Epic's 2.5 Rom I'm having the same problem. All my contact numbers are gone. The Rom is working though like what can I be doing wrong?

    I put the zip on my sd, mount then install.
     
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Are you wiping cache/data? That will remove your contacts.

    Otherwise /Data isn't touched and they all should be there...
     
  3. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I don't get because I'm not wiping cache or data. All my facebook friends are still in my contact list, but all their numbers are gone and any other numbers like my moms and boss and such are gone.

    I can access all my contacts on the verizon wireless website. They have a sync option but whenever I press it nothing happens so I'm not sure what's good with that. I guess I just have to stick with stock rom until someone comes out with one for the droid 2 that works for me.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  4. AngDroid

    AngDroid Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Use a google account to back up your contacts. Doesn't the backup program that comes with D2 back up contacts?
     
  5. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    what would be the best and easiest way to get my numbers back. If I make a back up of my current rom then load my stock one, how can I save my contacts in a way where I can load the newer rom back up and then get my contacts back

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Stop using the VZW backup for your contacts...it makes no sense w/the Droid.

    Put your contacts into your primary Gmail account you use on your phone...from then on they will always be backed up to the cloud and sync'd to/from the phone automatically.

    I would clear all contacts from your phone, enter them into your Gmail account and then you're done.
     
  7. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I put my contacts in on the computer or on the phone.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Doing it on the computer is much easier to type it all in...go to your Gmail account and open Contacts and put them in there...as soon as you enter them you'll find they will sync to your phone. Magic. :)
     
  9. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I add numbers in and others are already there will they show up twice or what

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  10. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Clear contacts from your phone first...go to Settings>Apps>Manage>All Apps and clear data/cache for contacts, contacts storage.

    Then check contacts to ensure they are gone.
     
  11. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I add them in will they automatically appear there or do I have to sync some how

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Redflea

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    They automatically appear.

    Make sure sync is on for your account...go to Settings>Accounts and select your Gmail account, and make sure that sync is turned on for Contacts (and Calendar, assuming you keep your schedule in that Gmail account, or want to) as well as mail.
     
Search tags for this page

do my contacts become erased when i flash a rom

,

how to access contacts after installing rom

,

install rom contacts gone?