contact issues after booting liberty 2.0

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by ekto21, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    only issue i have with it is not all of my contacts are not loaded but a few of them are. everything else is running perfectly on liberty. do i just go to VZW backup assistant and have my contacts loaded there?

    i apologize for this being my first post. ill make an intro post later today.
  2. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to flash back to stock, go into my contacts and push menu, click import/export, then export to SD, flash back to liberty and import. It's super easy and fairly quick. Hope this helps

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i got on the vzw website and im trying to sync and if that doesnt work then i guess ill have to do that, although im not sure exactly what that entails ha.

    in order to flash back to stock i would have to go in to recovery mode and then where would i find my original ROM. after that in order to go back to Lib i would just need to do the same steps that i did in order to boot in to liberty the first time correct?

    i appreciate the help.
  4. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just restore your backup you made. Then go through the same steps you did for Liberty.

    Sent from Liberated Droid X
  5. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh yes perfect forgot about that nandroid backup.
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    You can export your contacts from your online VZW account tobacco csv file and then import them from your sd.
  7. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok one more stupid question. when i go in to recover mode where will i find that nandroid backup on my sd card. i dont really want to go digging around and im not sure what it gets saved as.
  8. clarkstrange
    Offline

    clarkstrange New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah it makes it alot easier. Lol.

    Sent from Liberated Droid X
  9. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Its not a zip. You go down to backup and restore > restore
  10. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    did this and everything else you said. went back through the steps and now im in a bootloop at the liberty boot screen. pulled the battery and tried that route. i guess my option is to now wipe the phone?

    whats the best route now?
  11. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    boot into recovery (hold home while booting, hit search when it gets to the droid) and wipe data/cache, then reboot.
  12. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wipe date/factory reset and wipe cache?
  13. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    yes
    10 chars
  14. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    no need to wipe when restoring a backup
  15. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    if it bootloops then its better to try that than just sbf right off yea?
  16. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I've never had issues. I guess if you want to be extra cautious its good. Hopefully you don't have a corrupt backup though.
  17. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so its back up and running now. still in liberty but the liberty wallpaper is gone. on my bike ride home all of my apps reappeared but my contacts are still as they were before.

    im just going to try and pull them off the sd card and see how that goes.

    any insight in to what could have caused that and what i should do to avoid that?

    i had made two nandroid backups prior to having to flash over and i selected what i thought was the most recent backup but maybe it wasnt? maybe that was the issue? freaked me out though.

    i appreciate all the insight and help though.
  18. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    go to your gmail account and they are there under contacts. export them to sd and then you can import from sd.
  19. ekto21
    Offline

    ekto21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HA it imported every person i have emailed on gmail in ages and thats almost 1000 email addresses and no phone numbers.
  20. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    you can check/uncheck contacts in gmail