Constant Sync Icon...draining battery...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by LT*, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've recently installed Project Elite V3, and since doing so, I have the sync icon in my notification bar constantly. This is draining my battery much faster than it should. I have a very high "Android System" usage, and my partial wake stats say that the phone is running 100% of the time (no wonder the battery life sucks). I've done just about everything I can think of to stop it including but not limited to, wiping and reinstalling twice, changing kernels, turning off auto sync, airplane mode. I seem to be the only one with this issue as no one else in the release thread has mentioned an issue. Any ideas how I can solve this?

    Thanks
  2. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unsure if this is related to my previous issue. I am not seeing any of the apps on my SD card in my app drawer. Not only that, but when I go to Settings>applications>manage apps nothing from the SD card ever finishes computing so I can't uninstall or clear data etc. I also can't install anything either from the SD card with TiBu or from the Market. Definitely could use some rescuing here :icon_eek:
  3. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,071
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    LT* I'm sending you to the Rescue Squad area....these guys and girls are great.

    Are you restoring apps via TB after your data/cache wipe? If so don't use it restore via market sync. That would be my first recommendation. Wipe data/cache sync via market and report back. Somebody will be along to help you.

    Good luck!!
  4. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    If you go to settings>accounts & sync>press your gmail account, can you see what is not syncing correctly?

    Sent from my Droid
  5. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks so much for the reply. I can't seem to get the SD card to show up as storage. So now I can't load anything to the root of my card to flash it. I CAN see my pictures and music on the phone, but none of the apps seem to be seen. I tried downloading a fresh install of PEv3 from this site on my phone, but the DL was unsuccessful. any ideas? Thanks


    Edit: I managed to get it mounted through SPrecovery and got a fresh install done, I immediately noticed that USB and debugging came up, so that's good. waiting for apps to DL from market now. fingers crossed.
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  6. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    update: I am finding that I cannot install anything from any source at this point. The market just hung and nothing installed. I've tried to restore one app from TiBu and it won't install either (yes I checked allow install from unknown sources). Not sure how I can lose the ability to install anything. I also just tried to mount my SD card, and it soft rebooted and now says "Process System is not responding" FC, wait, report . It's just hanging there. not feeling encouraged now...


    Edit: Battery pull fixed it, but still can't install anything...
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2010
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,071
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    LT* you should format the SD card...that may resolve your issue.

    Back all the contents of your SD card on your desktop/format SD/ restore SD back-up to your card.

    Hopefully you can format the SD card.
  8. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may be able to do that, but I'm not sure it will help with my ability to install anything even in the internal memory. I've changed the install location to internal, didn't help. It seems like I have no installer package on the phone anymore. Also, when I go to manage apps in settings, it never finishes computing the size of each pre installed app. I read a lot of the threads with problems that other users have, and I've never seen this one before.

    Going to try and reformat the card, but I'm not sure it will help since I can mount it and see the contents in recovery mode. So frustrating.
  9. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually, the synch icon issue seems to be gone with this latest reinstall, but now I have other issues.
  10. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After a format of my SD card, there has been no change in the behavior. I did notice, that when it boots, the "bump" or vibration that usually happens is not. the boot is also much quicker than it used to be. Still need rescuing

    Edit: I just did another reboot, and it's definitely not booting properly. I get the opening animation, and then when it should hold and pulse the image (and the vibration and dimming of the image happens) it does not happen. Instead, the image pops up, and then goes immediately to my home screen.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010
  11. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update: I have since refllashed an old ROM I had on my PC. I wiped x3 and installed fine. The boot seemed to go back to normal and the ROM loaded. I still can't install anything from the market, and there is no TiBu in this ROM. I have the USB and Debugging icons up in notifications, but when I try to donnect so I can transfer files, the system goes back to the boot animation and then the system stops responding. Going to pull the battery now and try to think of something else. At this point I'm willing to just start over from scratch, re root and all that if I have to. I just need to know if there are any other options before I get into all that.

    Thanks
  12. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After more trial and error, I am starting to think that my installer is messed up. I now have PE3 loaded, the sync issue is resolved, but I am unable to install any APK from the Market, TiBU, or the web. The phone works well for calls, texts, email, web, but I can do nothing with apps at all. I have even been able to restore my call log and texts with TiBu. It just won't install anything.

    Is there any way to push a new installer package to the phone to see if that is the problem?

    Would love it if anyone has any ideas on this...

    Thanks
  13. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Wow Lt you've been through a lot.

    The fact that your installation issues persist even after wiping is a bit disturbing. The only other piece of advise I can give is to try using RSD to flash the phone back to stock and see if you still have the same issue. If so it might have some sort of hardware problem. If the issue gets resolved you can then re-root and see how it goes.

    Sorry, that's all I can think of right now.
  14. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL, yeah, it's been a learning experience for sure...Thanks so much for taking a look.

    I haven't used RSD since I first rooted. Is 4.6 still the version I should use? I only have the 2.1 SBF here, is there a new one or should I just load 2.1 and go from there?

    Sorry for the questions, but since I have your ear....and all that.

    Thanks again Tallica :)
  15. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,071
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I will have to agree with tallica LT*....if flashing back to stock and starting over doesn't resolve your issues then im at a loss as to what exactly is causing this. Hardware is the obvious. The only other thing I can offer you is that the sd card may be shot and causing the problem. Ive seen this to be the case with some of these issues.

    Sent from my Droid
  16. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    RSD 4.6 is fine. To get the stock 2.2 .sbf go to link 4 in my sig, option 5
  17. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't mind RSDing to stock if that fixes it. I dont' think it's the SD card because I can view all pics, and transfer files in SPrecovery with no issues. I'm going to read up on RSD and flashing to stock. I'm just unsure of some of the steps since I already have SPrecovery and the old ES81 SBF. Should I just start with that one?
  18. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Use link 4 in my sig, option 5 to find the correct file.


    Don't use the es81 file!

    Sent using the DF app, from a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away
  19. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I think I'm out of the woods!! I reverted to stock, and re-rooted using motocache's method all went very smoothly and I can now install apps again from the market as well as TiBu. Thanks for all your help, I kind of knew what I had to do but wasn't looking forward to having to do it. At this point it seems it was worth the hassle as it seems to have fixed the problem. Definitely have a better understanding of things now, so I'll call it a learning experience.
    dancedroid
  20. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA

    Glad your up and running:)
Search tags for this page
android battery account sync
,

droid x constant sync

,
htc incredible sync constant drain battery
,
htc sensation constant sync icon
,
icon syncing symbol going around draining battery life how t
,
lumia icon battery drain caused by constant account sync
,
motorola droid battery drain activesync
,
sync icon drains battery