1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Console Nostalgia

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by welsalex, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Q: What is the answer to the question about life the universe and everything?
    A: 42

    Now what is the question?
  2. SamuriHL
    Online

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, b a start.
  3. hAHAha Halo
    Offline

    hAHAha Halo New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol that's a cheat in Quake 4 xD

    Anyways, I'll just repost herein.. Can you freeze and delete the Verizon bloatware apps? Or does Verizon prevent that?
  4. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Contra for the win lol
  5. Obsidian...
    Offline

    Obsidian... Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You Loser... You didn't have any friends did you or you would have included "select" between a and start to get into 2 player cheat mode... Contra

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Xparent SkyBlue Tapatalk 2
  6. SamuriHL
    Online

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Admittedly I never had a Nintendo. I had a SNES for 2 games only. SF2 and MK. I was a Commodore boy so these newfangled console things didn't have much appeal to me until I could get some good fighting games. Now I own all 3 consoles and a top of the line gaming PC. :)
  7. jayrod
    Offline

    jayrod New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington NC
    Damn...makes me feel real old! I remember playing M.U.L.E. on my grandfather's old C64. I remember when he upgraded to his 128...and was in awe when he played MIDI files!

    Oh..and what about the D,U,L,L,A,R,D cheat code?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  8. LaurelRaven
    Offline

    LaurelRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to get onto the consoles more. Now i just have a Wii.

    If i want to game, i get on my much better equipped PC ;)

    Sent from my ICS Bionic
  9. Obsidian...
    Offline

    Obsidian... Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well this goes back to a time before homes had a PC or if they did it wasn't able to run multiple games due to hard drive space lol

    I'm a huge fan of mouse look too so I'm a PC guy myself
  10. jayrod
    Offline

    jayrod New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington NC
    Bahaha...My familys first PC was a Packard Bell with I believe a 486 processor. Windows 95 was still in the works!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  11. LaurelRaven
    Offline

    LaurelRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, yes. I'm saying I don't get the whole console thing anymore, really.

    My PC has a six core 3.2 AMD, ATI 6950 1gb, and 16 gigs DDR 3 ram. It is everything I've ever wanted in a gaming system, and I can run virtual servers in the background at the same time!

    Yes. I am very, very much a geek. How did you guess?

    Sent from my Nexus 7
  12. LaurelRaven
    Offline

    LaurelRaven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IBM...don't remember the name, but it had 2 5.25" floppies and no hard drive. After that, we had a Compaq luggable. Remember those?

    I think we got a 486 dell after that...seemed like a speed demon, and the 170mb drive was huge!

    Sent from my Nexus 7
  13. dautley
    Offline

    dautley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dickson, Tn.
    My first PC was a commodore 64 with 1541 disk drive, I absolutely relish typing "load *.*, 8,1" grabbing a bite to eat and come back and typing "run" :)
  14. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Well I feel young. First family machine was light years ahead of those... Gateway with a P1 75mhz, ~600MB HDD, 16mb ram running win 95. Equipped with an impressive 14.4 modem
  15. welsalex
    Offline

    welsalex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I remember being about 10 years old and My dad bought another 16mb ram and a 10 GB hard drive for that machine. He spent hours scared to death rereading install instructions before doing anything. I was anxious as hell and understood what to do and waites painfully for him to let me touch it. To his horror I slapped it all in and flashed the bios to accept such a big drive. He thought i was gonna break it. But to his surprise it worked and from then on he just let me deal with all tech stuff to this day.
  16. JayBusa102709
    Offline

    JayBusa102709 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ibm ps2 386sx 2md ram and i think 80 mb hdrive
  17. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Makes me want to dig the ole C64 out and fire it up! Thought I was the sh!! When I connected to my buddies via acoustic coupler to share files!

    Enjoyed the FAQ and this thread Sam!

    Sent from my butt-kick'n DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk2
  18. LorelSilverleaf
    Offline

    LorelSilverleaf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Atari 400 with the membrane keyboard and the 410 tape drive. :) when I got my twin double sided double density drives and my "Happy" chip for my 810 drive I was in heaven!
  19. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *LOL* I was a Commodore boy myself (VIC-20 and then C64). To be honest, I never really cared about the consoles back then, most of them couldn't really touch the C64 as far as gameplay was concerned. And I actually found the C64's graphics to beat the NES. Nowadays, I have an aging gaming PC (Core 2 Duo e6600, GTX 275 video card) and an xbox360. The PC plays all my games just fine at 1080p, and my 360 rocks for gaming on my 42" TV. I still think I got more gaming satisfaction out of the 64, I used to love typing in the game listings from Compute! magazine. Remember MLX? Was tons of fun entering all of those decimal (later hexadecimal) values and getting a free game for your efforts. SYS 49152, anyone?
  20. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My first PC (x86 based, that is) was an IBM XT with the 4.77MHz 8088 processor, a Hercules MDA card, and a 9" green phosphor Epson monitor. This was built in the early 90s out of a pile of junk parts. Wasn't exactly a gaming machine, but my brother and I still used it to play Microsoft Flight Simulator 4.0 - we used to compete to see who could design the more ridiculous aircraft in the airplane designer. I remember making one that was literally impossible to land. I think I gave it something like 11,000 square feet of wing area. Even if you tried to fly it into the ground, it would rise right back up. Fun times.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012