Connection issues

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by xRagex, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. jarussillo
    Offline

    jarussillo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also tried to change it to CDMA only to no avail for me. has the issue reared its ugly head again since the change dbord
    (original poster)
  2. dbord
    Offline

    dbord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem

    It's been two days since I switched to CDMA only and not one drop out. Maybe I lucked out!!!
  3. DeliriousGoddess
    Offline

    DeliriousGoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as the apps randomly disappearing issue... The bionic has problems with applications that are stored on the SD card (aka the media area). Go through your apps list and make sure they are all moved to the phone storage. This will solve the apps uninstalling themselves. Some apps in the market are set to automatically install to the SD card, so if you are having issues with specific apps, this is the problem.
  4. Mer2112
    Offline

    Mer2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Restart Connections from the market cleared this up for me even after a restart wouldn't. Definitely worth a try.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    I've had all of these issues on mine and have been back and forth with VZW about it constantly... short of wasting my time going to a store for a replacement that will likely do the same. Locking into CDMA mode DOES fix the data drop issue (for me, then again, I've only ever lost 3G service particularly noticeable when I come home from work and am no longer in a 4G zone).. but then what is the point of buying a 4g LTE phone, right?
  6. JRParsons
    Online

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    A lot of you are blaming your phones for the dropped connections, this may or not be the case, but I have a TB and have been having the same issues over the last couple of weeks, I've spoken with Verizon a couple of times. First time they bumped it up to a tier 2, he reset the towers in my area, and for about 10 minutes I had blazingly fast 4G, we're I normally would only get poor 3G. Then, I had nothing.
    The tier 2 tech said that there had been a data outage in the area earlier, but it had been lifted, he noted that it shouldn't have been lifted, and would note that the area was still out.
    The agent went on to say that many areas were experiencing outages, and VW was working hard to correct them. Further, he said that in November Verizon would be adding a multitude of new sites to increase coverage/signal strength.
    Hope this helps.
  7. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,448
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    You are right. It is a problem with the towers switching from 3g/4g. The question is, can a firmware update fix this or is it something that is hardware related.
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
  8. TonyBoD
    Offline

    TonyBoD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had the problem over the past few days - suddenly have NO data connection. I have bars and can send/receive calls, but no data at all - very annoying as most of what I do with this phone is data.

    I have toggled airplane mode - no luck. I have power cycled the phone - lo luck. I have pulled the battery - no luck. I have pulled the SD card - no luck. I have tried the reset connections app - no luck. I have put the phone into CDMA only - issue still happens. The ONLY thing that seems to work is time - eventually data comes back but I never know when and fro how long.

    I called VZW and talked to a tier 2 tech who said it was realted to a network issue and the handoff between 3G and 4G - he said the network had been up and down but they hoped to have it fixed. I tend to discount this explanation - if I'm in CDMA only why would this be an issue? I mentioned that I heard there was going to be an OTA update to address the issue - he said that an OTA update would not fix this issue. Sadly, this is par for the course from VZW - the company is so big and so disorganized that if you call 10 times with the same issue you talk to 10 different TS reps and get 10 different stories about what the problem is and how to fix it. About the only good thing is that I didn't have to push very hard to have my data chanrges credited for the month.

    I understand I'm not going to get 4G everywhere. I understand that this is a new phone and I'm one of the early adopters. I understand that bugs will need to be worked out. While this problem is incredibly annoying, I'm willing to give it some time, but at a certain point I'm not going to want to live with a data-based phone that doesn't get data. I hope this gets resolved because I like the phone and don't relish the fight to return it if it comes to that.
  9. mikeyd08
    Offline

    mikeyd08 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland USA
    Just downloaded restart connections from market. I'll give it a try, thanks.

    sent from my galaxy tab 10.1 using droidforums
  10. ravichopra
    Offline

    ravichopra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried this myself just recently and so far it has worked like a charm!
  11. thesteveoproject
    Offline

    thesteveoproject New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've recently run into this problem as well, after getting 4GLTE for the first time after a month and a half of having this phone, and then my data would suddenly cut out for anywhere from 10 minutes to 6 hours or more. I changed my settings to CDMA only since I'm in an area that doesn't have 4G coverage yet, and have found that if the issue happens(which it hasn't since I've done this), I simply toggle Airplane mode from the built-in widget for about 30 seconds to a minute, and then toggle it off, and I got back my 3G signal and haven't had any issues since, and it's been about a week, so we'll see how things go in the weeks following.
  12. CJsGirl
    Offline

    CJsGirl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DITTO!!!!!!!! I am having the same issue and agree with everything you've said!

    I'm not sure why some are raving about the restart connections app since all it does is toggle airplane mode... why download an additional app when there is a built in widget already?

    And the only other thing I can add to this is IT'S NOT JUST A BIONIC ISSUE... IT'S A 4G ISSUE... I went through 4 Thunderbolts and quite a few irate phone calls to Verizon before they let me switch to this dreadful Bionic (with the worst camera I have ever experienced in a phone) and the Thunderbolts all had the same issue.

    All we can do is pray the November update is going to fix it, or go back to a 3G phone.
  13. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,841
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hmm, hopefully in a few weeks the Verizon update will be implemented and all the issues in this thread will be solved.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  14. quizzard
    Offline

    quizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone else notice that other 4g phones get better signal than the Bionic? I went into a Verizon store, every 4g phone in there had 4 bars, except the Bionic, it had 3 bars.

    I looked down at my Bionic, it only has... 2? Thats odd... so I fiddle the display Bionics... and as I move it around, the signal goes down to 2 bars...
  15. SMGriffin
    Offline

    SMGriffin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I feel the same exact way. :-(

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
driod bionic exchange connection problems
,

droid bionic connection issues

,

droid bionic connection problems

,
droid connextion issues
,
how to get rid of connection time out on 4g bionic
,
problem no usb connection bionic