Connection issues

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by xRagex, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. Graymayre
    Offline

    Graymayre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    upstate NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    Verizon is aware of the issue and a fix is due to be in the next update in early Nov.
    Power cycle is the only option.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  2. mswx
    Offline

    mswx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same problem

    I understand there is a patch in the works but this is really disappointing.
  3. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +155
    I wish it were as easy as a power cycle. Sometimes it works (for me), sometimes it doesn't.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. Susyflower
    Offline

    Susyflower New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't live in a 4g area but my 3g still goes in and out a lot. I also just had to do a battery pull because I couldn't get the screen to come back on after it timed out and didn't have a data signal...after about 10 minutes it came back. Very spotty...very upset! My fiance got a Droid 3 and hasn't had one problem.
  5. jarussillo
    Offline

    jarussillo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been having the same problem and it seems to be getting worse over time. The most convenient way that i found is to go to the market and get the app called restart connection and set a shortcut on the desktop and when you loss connection simply tap the shortcut and it will restart connections. I know it is a band aid but it will get you to early November and it is allot better than rebooting your phone 12 times a day.
  6. jarussillo
    Offline

    jarussillo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also tried to change it to CDMA only to no avail for me. has the issue reared its ugly head again since the change dbord
    (original poster)
  7. dbord
    Offline

    dbord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem

    It's been two days since I switched to CDMA only and not one drop out. Maybe I lucked out!!!
  8. DeliriousGoddess
    Offline

    DeliriousGoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as the apps randomly disappearing issue... The bionic has problems with applications that are stored on the SD card (aka the media area). Go through your apps list and make sure they are all moved to the phone storage. This will solve the apps uninstalling themselves. Some apps in the market are set to automatically install to the SD card, so if you are having issues with specific apps, this is the problem.
  9. Mer2112
    Offline

    Mer2112 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Restart Connections from the market cleared this up for me even after a restart wouldn't. Definitely worth a try.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  10. RacingTiger03
    Offline

    RacingTiger03 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chatt, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had all of these issues on mine and have been back and forth with VZW about it constantly... short of wasting my time going to a store for a replacement that will likely do the same. Locking into CDMA mode DOES fix the data drop issue (for me, then again, I've only ever lost 3G service particularly noticeable when I come home from work and am no longer in a 4G zone).. but then what is the point of buying a 4g LTE phone, right?
  11. JRParsons
    Online

    JRParsons Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mass.
    Ratings:
    +17
    A lot of you are blaming your phones for the dropped connections, this may or not be the case, but I have a TB and have been having the same issues over the last couple of weeks, I've spoken with Verizon a couple of times. First time they bumped it up to a tier 2, he reset the towers in my area, and for about 10 minutes I had blazingly fast 4G, we're I normally would only get poor 3G. Then, I had nothing.
    The tier 2 tech said that there had been a data outage in the area earlier, but it had been lifted, he noted that it shouldn't have been lifted, and would note that the area was still out.
    The agent went on to say that many areas were experiencing outages, and VW was working hard to correct them. Further, he said that in November Verizon would be adding a multitude of new sites to increase coverage/signal strength.
    Hope this helps.
  12. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    You are right. It is a problem with the towers switching from 3g/4g. The question is, can a firmware update fix this or is it something that is hardware related.
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2011
  13. TonyBoD
    Offline

    TonyBoD New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've had the problem over the past few days - suddenly have NO data connection. I have bars and can send/receive calls, but no data at all - very annoying as most of what I do with this phone is data.

    I have toggled airplane mode - no luck. I have power cycled the phone - lo luck. I have pulled the battery - no luck. I have pulled the SD card - no luck. I have tried the reset connections app - no luck. I have put the phone into CDMA only - issue still happens. The ONLY thing that seems to work is time - eventually data comes back but I never know when and fro how long.

    I called VZW and talked to a tier 2 tech who said it was realted to a network issue and the handoff between 3G and 4G - he said the network had been up and down but they hoped to have it fixed. I tend to discount this explanation - if I'm in CDMA only why would this be an issue? I mentioned that I heard there was going to be an OTA update to address the issue - he said that an OTA update would not fix this issue. Sadly, this is par for the course from VZW - the company is so big and so disorganized that if you call 10 times with the same issue you talk to 10 different TS reps and get 10 different stories about what the problem is and how to fix it. About the only good thing is that I didn't have to push very hard to have my data chanrges credited for the month.

    I understand I'm not going to get 4G everywhere. I understand that this is a new phone and I'm one of the early adopters. I understand that bugs will need to be worked out. While this problem is incredibly annoying, I'm willing to give it some time, but at a certain point I'm not going to want to live with a data-based phone that doesn't get data. I hope this gets resolved because I like the phone and don't relish the fight to return it if it comes to that.
  14. mikeyd08
    Offline

    mikeyd08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just downloaded restart connections from market. I'll give it a try, thanks.

    sent from my galaxy tab 10.1 using droidforums
  15. ravichopra
    Offline

    ravichopra Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried this myself just recently and so far it has worked like a charm!
Search tags for this page
driod bionic exchange connection problems
,

droid bionic connection issues

,

droid bionic connection problems

,
droid connextion issues
,
how to get rid of connection time out on 4g bionic
,
problem no usb connection bionic