Connect to a NAS

robinson crusoe

Reaction score
I just bought a Motorola Milestone and WD MYBook World Edition. I'm a novice user for both of them.

I want to connect to my storage directly with my phone but i couldn't find a way.

I found a software called Astro File Manager and a plugin Astro SMB Module but i couldn't setup it correctly. When i write my storage's ip as server name and a user name from the storage it says "connection succesful" but when i try to save it it gives error "error saving network connection".

I opened port 445, no change.

I found another software called Estrongs File Manager but it gives error when i try to run the setup. It says decomposition error(in Turkish, i cannot translate).

Is there a way to connect my storage directly from my phone?

OP
R

robinson crusoe

Reaction score
I somehow installed Estrongs File Manager and it works perfect.

There's only one problem. I can't access to "public" folder. It's weird because there are a couple of other default folders that are shared with everyone too and i can access to them without any problem :S If i can't solve the problem i'll carry my files to another folder and go on, but i hate temporary solutions.

OP
R

robinson crusoe

Reaction score
Thank you at least for trying.

When i try to open folders that i have no rights it says "network path not found or time out. Please try again".

Although public is a shared folder for everyone it doesn't allow me, it gives the same error.

There's another folder named download. Its access rules are the same as public and i can open that folder.

The problem is these folders come with storage as default and they give functionality.

OP
R

robinson crusoe

Reaction score
After spending 1 day to solve the problem, i give up.

I've created my own "public" folder and carry my files(still copying 1 tb of data :S).