Connect a Droid 2 to a wireless router

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by pjbodie, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. pjbodie

    pjbodie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to connect my Droid 2 to a wireless router by using a USB to Eithernet adapter?
     
  2. Nods_Dad

    Nods_Dad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what your trying to do...hardwire it?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  3. pjbodie

    pjbodie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now my modem plugs into the wireless router so I can access other WIFI devices so I was thinking that I could plug my usb teather into the modem port on the router and off I go.
     
  4. dast

    dast Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you talking about plugging in an ethernet-to-usb adapter to your phone with the intent of giving it a wired ethernet port and then connecting it via cat5 to a router? I hope I seriously misunderstand, cause this almost certainly wouldn't work.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    It sounds like he's trying to use the tethering to go to the WAN port on the router, effectively making the need for a landline ISP moot.. In which case, I ask, "why?" :)
    If that is what you're trying to do, don't bother, you'll be much happier with a hardwired ISP, then you can still use the phone portion...
    You can, however, connect to the wifi and use that from your phone instead of 3G :)
     
  6. mcatdtDroid

    mcatdtDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    this sounds like he's trying to turn give his phones internet a wireless feature to any computer (or game console) in the house.

    I have wondered this too because the way you have to hook up your phone, share connections and then still buy USB/Ethernet adapter to hook into your Wii makes it a HUGE hassel and wires everywhere. If I could give my router a useable signal, then anything can use the wireless
     
  7. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, rooting + wifi tether would be much easier... I still say a hardline is much better and more reliable though.
     
  8. r314bd

    r314bd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Yes and no. I am not certain if you can set this up with a USB-to-Ethernet cable, but you CAN do it wirelessly.

    Use a DD-WRT modded router in repeater mode and repeat the ad-hoc connection from your phone as a different infrastructure SSID. Gets much better signal strength through the house, and works with gaming consoles and whatnot.

    You might be able to do it with a cable though as well.
     
  9. Canadroid

    Canadroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Little bit off track but--

    Has anyone noticed our Droids, when logged onto a Linksys router via WiFi, display no 'name' or 'handle' if you are logged onto the router brain's networking tables?

    It's just blank, never seen that before with any connected device. This would be adjacent to where your Windows PC's ID or name is displayed along with MAC and IP.

    Interestingly, Steve Job's little family do identify themselves as Iphones, making it easier for me to hit them with the holy ban-hammer. :biggrin:

    (Router is an E3000, believe I saw the same on Wrt54G)

    *If anyone knows a way to designate a network ID on the D2, please share!*
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2010
  10. allmobile

    allmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm curious about this to. Infact been searching for two weeks.I have a trendnet tew-652brp Nseries wireless router. We moved out in the country and no longer have internet service. I have been tethering for a few weeks and would like to hook my Xbox, wii, and laptop up like they used to be. I can tether the xbox to laptop to play but that's it. Anyway to get the droid to connect in to the WAN connection on the router and actually make a signal.
    Help appreciated dancedroid
     
  11. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    For your situation, following sgmds' advice would be best, provided dd-wrt supports your router. Or if your router supports ad-hoc bridging, which most don't unless you buy an expensive one :)
     
  12. allmobile

    allmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured. Guessing my $30 router wont cut it. I did however download connectify, which allows me to use my laptop as a hotspot. But I'm still running on pda-net. Anyway to speed up that connection to have more output to my wifi ready Xbox?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  13. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unfortunately not, while using the cell phone is technically a "high-speed" connection, it generally has a low upload speed and a high ping rate, both of which are not conducive to gaming, especially if you're playing larger multiplayer games like COD or Halo.
    Really the only way to get a better setup is to either drop the money for a hardline ISP, or wait for LTE to come to your area... But LTE may end up costing you more money, gaming will take up quite a bit of bandwidth and VZW is planning on having a tiered structure for the data, with no Unlimited option.
     
  14. allmobile

    allmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried a different route can someone help with this

    To start I'll list my devices. I have windows 7 tethering internet from my droid 1. Internet works great. So from there I downloaded connectify (allows me to use my laptop as wifi hotspot). To make sure this works I used my dads computer to connect to that hotspot (he also has windows 7) it connected with no error.
    Here lies the problem. My droid wont wifi tether to my laptop. It connects to network,but not to internet. So I just use corded tethering. No biggie. But my xbox, wii, friends phones cannot connect to my laptops hotspot. Connects to network but not internet. Is this problem in my laptops firewall or my devices. I disabled my firewalls for a few seconds to try ane connect. No good either.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  15. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm not sure what you mean, you said you have tethering working with Windows 7, but it's not working? Are you talking about two different computers when you say "Windows 7" and "Laptop"? If so, what OS is on the laptop?
    If your laptop can't wirelessly tether to your droid, and other devices can't tether to the laptop, I'd be more inclined to think it's an issue with the wifi on the laptop. Does it use Wireless-N? If it does, you'll need to check to make sure that it also will work with B/G as well or you'll have wifi issues.
     
Search tags for this page
adapter to connect android phone modem to router
,

how can i connect my wireless network from my droid to a wir

,
how do i add my motorola razor phone to a linksys wi-fi rout
,

how do i connect wireless camera to droid razar phone

,
how do i know if wifi is connected to my droid 2
,
how to add driod cell phone to netgear router
,
how to connect to wireless router with droid razor
,
pdanet to router wan
,
what is a wireless router that connects to a droid or iphone
,

why wont my droid razr connect to my linksys router