Confuses about installing other kernels

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Zlaya, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. Zlaya
    Offline

    Zlaya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Sorry, I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I'm having trouble finding the answer to my question if it exists on the forum...

    I would like to try other kernels, but I don't want to wipe my phone every time.

    Right now I run bugless with 800 mhz kernel, and sdrecovery.

    If I get a different kernel and go with the updaqte.zip method, do I need to wipe the phone? Will installing update.zip wipe the phone?

    Thanks for your time.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    you dont have to wipe when installing a different kernel. just install in recovery. and no, update.zip method wont wipe
     
  3. Zlaya
    Offline

    Zlaya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I gather that the same goes with applying themes with update.zip?

    Thanks

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Exactly! Just make backups before flashing ANYTHING, just in case :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  5. Zlaya
    Offline

    Zlaya New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thanks for the tip.

    Coicidentally, is nandroid backup enough, at that point?

    Or should I backup with titanium before I reboot?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +35
    Nandroid backup in recovery is what I meant, sorry. Titanium won't be needed since you're not wiping :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!