Confused, how to get Clockworkmod?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by shameronsho, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. shameronsho
    Offline

    shameronsho New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    This is probably really easy to do but I can not figure it out for the life of me. I currently have SPRecovery but want to switch to ClockworkMod just so I can have multiple update.zip files that I can choose to install. Having to do it one at a time with SPR is just a pain.

    I tried flashing it using rom manager but when I do I can not boot into recover and have to reflash SPR with RSD Lite. If someone could help me out with this it would be AMAZING!!!!
     
  2. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Use RomManager. Go back in....if possible be connected to WiFi instead of 3G so the download will be quicker..

    Hit Menu, select "Clear Download Cache" so that it wipes out the previous download it did of ClockworkMod. Back at the main Rom Manager screen, press the Flash ClockworkMod Recovery and let it do it's thing.

    Immediately after it completes, press it again and let it do it's thing. If it responds "Success" within 2-3 seconds (on this second time) it should be successful. If it responds "success" in 5 or more it didn't take.

    You can also flash SPRecovery from Rom Manager so you don't need to do it via RSD Lite. (Flash Alternate Recovery).
     
  3. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Unfortunately the rom manager way is not always reliable. I personally have never had an issue with rom manager but I have read about many people who have. So when you flash clockwork through RM does it say successfully flashed?

    edit: tcrews beat me to it, follow his directions should work out for you
     
  4. shameronsho
    Offline

    shameronsho New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK tried this, did not work. Is this just a case of do it till it works?
     
  5. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    No, use Rom Manager to flash the Alternate Recovery (SPRecovery) then re-do the steps I posted.


     
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,134
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +209
    In ROM manager flash clockwork, then go to bottom and flash alternate recovery, then flash clockwork again. Do that a couple times and it'll stick.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  7. shameronsho
    Offline

    shameronsho New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh ok, yeah it worked this time. Thank you for the help, clockwork is going to be so much more useful.

    Thanks again,

    -Sham
     
Search tags for this page

clockworkmod.tar

,
how to get clock workmod reco
,
how to get out clockwork mod
,
how to install clock workmod recovery trough rom manager
,
where can i download clockworkmod.tar