Confused about swype

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by belome, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. belome
    Offline

    belome Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I read the sticky at the top about swype, so hopefully I'm not breaking the rules by posting this I'm just trying to clarify.

    So, from what i read, since i have the droid 2 with production swype, there is no way for me to run the beta app, correct?

    If so, is there a way to get an updated swype for my phone, or am I out of luck? I have no problems paying if there is an option... I'm just a little confused.
     
  2. mikehal38
    Offline

    mikehal38 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm on my phone so I cant help much. If you go to swype's webpage they have a tutorial on how to get the swype beta on pre loaded devices. You do have to be rooted though because you have to remove system files for it to work.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. belome
    Offline

    belome Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bummer, I don't really want to root my phone.

    Does anyone know if they have plans to release a new updated production version? Or is it more in Verizons court at this point?
     
  4. belome
    Offline

    belome Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, i went over to the swype forum. I guess I can feel better knowing I'm not the only one that is irate over the crappy version of Swype we have on our phones.

    I sure hope they fix it someday.
     
  5. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just get slide it. Very similar but its a little better supported in my opinion. Plus it seems more straight forward. Better prediction because you don't have to make a loop for every double letter) that drives me nuts)

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  6. belome
    Offline

    belome Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the difference between slideit keyboard and slideit soft keyboard... other than one costs 7 bucks?
     
  7. mikehal38
    Offline

    mikehal38 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1
    the free one is just a trial. It's very simple to root an x if you decide to go that route. I highly recommend it even if you only root to update swype. The new version is much better than what comes preloaded on our device.

    I just read that you have a d2 but as far as I know it's just as simple rooting that as an x. Just get z4 root our a similar app and it does all the work for you.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's up to the OEM (Motorola in your case) as they license Swype.