confused about rooting

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by turdbogls, Aug 10, 2010.

1. turdbogls

turdbogls New Member

yeah i am a noob...i did some research and nothing reallly came up.

basically i forced the official 2.2 update last week.

decided i wanted to root afterall so i downloaded easyroot from the marketplace and did that with no issues. then i went to ROM manager, got clockworkmod recovery working, downloaded Bugless beast, rebooted into recovery and got the CWM recovery screen, and was stuck from there, i didn't know what to do, so i just rebooted back to stock 2.2.

whenever i download a ROM, it finishes, but when it prompts me to reboot, it reboots into normal recovery mode or doesn't reboot at all. and when i try to reflash clickworkmod recovery i get an error saying "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands!" i know for a fact i gave it super user access when i ran the ROM manager.

so basically i am stuck. i just want bugless beast, but i am having issues with SP and CMW recovery where they dont want to work correctly...just boots to the stock recovery.

i am a total noob, just got my droid, just started reading about it. please help, try to use full names of programs, and links if possible.

also wondering about overclocking AND wifi tethering. do i need a different kernal for this, or does BB come with overclock and wifi tethering. i have barnacle installed, but it doesn't seem to be working on rooted stock 2.2.
    sorry for all the rambling...i just really want to know what i am doing so i can possibly help out in the future.
    thanks guys
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
  2. turdbogls

turdbogls New Member

can anyone help me here? still not finding the answers anywhere.